Recording Opera-Soprano is vibrating at frequencies... - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 20th, 2006, 08:03 AM   #16
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
I use a line input from the house board, and record mono on both channels. On my Z1 I set channel 1 for auto level and channel 2 for manual. This has saved my bacon a couple times when something unexpected happens....
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2006, 08:10 AM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 540
As I mentioned initially, it was definitely not a levels problem. I did fix the problem by using a different mic (Neumann TLM103). My on-camera mic still did the overload sounding thing, though levels were very low. I guess some mics just don't handle some frequencies well.

Thanks for all the help!

KW
Kevin Wild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2006, 11:45 AM   #18
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Wild
I did fix the problem by using a different mic (Neumann TLM103). My on-camera mic still did the overload sounding thing, though levels were very low. I guess some mics just don't handle some frequencies well.
I'd still like to hear more description of the sound - the "rattle"...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve House
Sounds like a situation where duplicate recordings are in order, the backup 12 db or so lower than the primary.
Not for 17 channels, man! Just gotta set 'em RIGHT. Luckily operas have a full orchestra dress or two to figure "right" out...
Barry Werger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2006, 10:39 AM   #19
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 540
The rattle I described is really more like a sound of overmodulation. When I hear it in headphones, I expect to look down and see the meters pegged, but they're not even close. So, I guess it's a distortion, but only at a certain frequency, rather than volume-based.

Make sense?

Kevin
Kevin Wild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2006, 11:43 AM   #20
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 1
Sopranos

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Wild
The rattle I described is really more like a sound of overmodulation. When I hear it in headphones, I expect to look down and see the meters pegged, but they're not even close. So, I guess it's a distortion, but only at a certain frequency, rather than volume-based.

Make sense?
I'm late answering this, but yes, it makes sense. Operatic sopranos can put out way more energy at certain frequencies than a recordist who's used to dialogue (or even pop singers) would expect.

I've had the same problem. I don't know what's being overloaded, but my guess is it's either the mic or the A/D convertor.

I work with opera singers on original projects (short screen musicals), and it's almost impossible to get film recordists to take the problem seriously until it happens to them--by which time it's too late.
Keith Snyder is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:54 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network