Mounting Rode NT2 to an XL2? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 14th, 2006, 02:41 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Houston/Austin
Posts: 394
Mounting Rode NT2 to an XL2?

Is there a good way to mount the NT2 to an XL2? The mic is too slim and does not proppery fit in the stock mic holder. I have just been taping in there with gaffers tape. Surely there's a better way.
Adam Bray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 05:06 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Bray
Is there a good way to mount the NT2 to an XL2? The mic is too slim and does not proppery fit in the stock mic holder. I have just been taping in there with gaffers tape. Surely there's a better way.
K-TEK makes a shockmount and adapter that fits into the stock mic holder. Get's the mic a little farther away from the camera noises as well.
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 12:08 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Burlington
Posts: 1,961
And if you want something a little better than gaffer's tape in the meantime, you can use a razor to cut a rectangle from a neoprene mouse-pad that's the right thickness. This will build up the diameter of the mic when you wrap it around the barrel and place it in the clamp.
Jay Massengill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 12:14 PM   #4
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
I use rubber cut from a bicycle inner tube.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2006, 07:08 PM   #5
DVCreators.Net
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 888
Check out the RODE SM5 shockmount- it allows you to use the NTG-2 in the stock XL2 mic holder. It's cool because you're not giving up the hot shoe like you would with the SM3. Give me a ring if you'd like one for $35. We have a few here. 1-877-353-8077 http://www.rodemic.com/?pagename=Products&product=SM5
Attached Thumbnails
Mounting Rode NT2 to an XL2?-sm5.jpg  
__________________
Guy Cochran
DVinfo Sponsor, Cool Gear - DVeStore!
Guy Cochran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2006, 09:27 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD USA
Posts: 2,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Bray
Is there a good way to mount the NT2 to an XL2? The mic is too slim and does not proppery fit in the stock mic holder. I have just been taping in there with gaffers tape. Surely there's a better way.
Rode makes an adapter.

Ty Ford
Ty Ford is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network