skinny mic, fat holder on camera at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 14th, 2006, 06:08 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Burbank CA
Posts: 466
skinny mic, fat holder on camera

I'm sure this is common but I don't get it. I'm looking for a shotgun mic for my Canon XH A1.
The external holder has a center diameter that is way too large to accommodate the shotgun mics that I've found.
What are people doing about this? I've noticed the same problem with the Sony Z1 and other cameras. Way too large an opening for the barrel of the mic.
David Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 08:11 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 1,585
Hi David,

If you look a few threads below at "Mounting Rode NT2 to an XL2?", you'll see a couple of suggestions that might help.

I've also seen a product called a JRod that is supposed to help with that exact problem. You can do a search for that.

For my Z1, I took apart the shock mount that came with my Rode, screwed it to a bit of broom stick handle that fit exactly in my mic holder, and mounted the shock mount to that. Works like a charm. I painted it blue after I took these pictures The left over shoe attachment came in handy for my wireless transmitter, too, so it all worked out.

I'm guess what I'm trying to say is, don't be afraid to mess around and build something if you can't find a product that will do what you want...
Attached Thumbnails
skinny mic, fat holder on camera-01-broom-mount_small.jpg   skinny mic, fat holder on camera-02-broom-mount_small.jpg  

skinny mic, fat holder on camera-03-broom-mount_small.jpg   skinny mic, fat holder on camera-04-broom-mount_small.jpg  

skinny mic, fat holder on camera-06-wireless-mount_small.jpg   skinny mic, fat holder on camera-09-wireless-mount_small.jpg  

skinny mic, fat holder on camera-10-wireless-mount_small.jpg   skinny mic, fat holder on camera-11-wireless-mount_small.jpg  

__________________
.
http://www.nosmallroles.com
Vito DeFilippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 11:13 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Morgan
I'm sure this is common but I don't get it. I'm looking for a shotgun mic for my Canon XH A1.
The external holder has a center diameter that is way too large to accommodate the shotgun mics that I've found.
What are people doing about this? I've noticed the same problem with the Sony Z1 and other cameras. Way too large an opening for the barrel of the mic.
Take a look at the K-Tek BWC adapter. It's a plug that sized to fit into the Canon and others mic collar and has a 3/8x16 threaded stud to fit the hole of a standard shockmount. http://mklemme.com/pole/kbwc.html
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2006, 02:10 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
I use an AT 897 on my Canon XLH1 (used it for 2 yaers on my XL2). Iwrapped ahrd rubber around it so it would fit snugly in the holder. Ilost the rubber and now just wedge a piece of foam in the holder to help keep the 897 from moving.
Bruce S. Yarock
www.yarock.com
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2006, 06:59 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: France
Posts: 578
Hi there

I have used third party mic mounts on an FX1.

But on my Z1 by far the easiest way I've found is to wrap some gaffer tape around your mic, or a piece of neoprene type rubber...

When you do this so the mic (either my Rode NTG2 or AT897's) fit snuggly in the regular Z1 mount ... the small rubber dimples inside it cushioning the movement... I don't find an noticeable handling noise this way...

regards
Gareth
Gareth Watkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2006, 08:53 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Burbank CA
Posts: 466
THX to all for the replys and thx for the pictures.

Gareth, I've done exactly that. About 20 wraps of G-tape to make the barrel bigger.
I just find myself thinking though, maybe the manufacturers ought to take a second look at this mount. I think they should start with about half the inside diameter, then allow the adjustment screw to open the sleeve up to fit bigger mic's. I think the starting point right now is way too large. I mean, do they think your going to cram an SM-58 in there or something?
David Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2006, 10:48 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lake Oswego, Oregon
Posts: 23
I discoverd the same thing when I unpacked my A1, David. Somehow, I just can't get excited about wrapping tape around my Sanken CS-1. I'll keep looking until I find something; at some point there's got to be an aftermarket product that will be a "clean" solution.
Larry Rodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2006, 10:54 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lake Oswego, Oregon
Posts: 23
I spoke too soon! That BWC mount looks good - not just good - I really like the look; I will order one. Thanks for the tip, Steve.
Larry Rodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2006, 11:31 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Burbank CA
Posts: 466
Thx Steve.
What'll they think of next?
David Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2006, 12:51 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ 85260
Posts: 1,538
Sony's original rubber sleeve

David,

For many years, the external mic holder for Sony Pro cameras was an aftermarket purchase, iirc called the CAC-1 or something like that. It shipped with a rubber grommet that reduced the diameter of the holder to the correct size to hold typical on-camera short shotgun style mics.

Sony probably has a part number for the thing. (This presumes you can find an actual phone number for a Sony service facility where an actual human being will talk to you - not always an easy task these days!)

There are probably a thousand of the things in a warehouse somewhere - the challenge is finding out where!

Good luck.
Bill Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2006, 09:56 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Burlington
Posts: 1,961
I use one of those Sony spacers from my older cameras on occasion, but the shockmount on my newer Sony DVCAM is even larger diameter than the CAC-1, so for really skinny mics I have to use something much thicker.
Jay Massengill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2006, 12:25 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 169
Nice solution Vito.

The J-Rod will also solve this, as Vito said. If you go to www.thej-rod.com you will see something that looks a lot Vito's solution. This should work fine on the A1 too Larry.
Jeff Rhode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2006, 11:40 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 111
Larry - it might sound silly, but when I have to gaff-tape my mics I wrap the first layer in reverse so that the sticky side is out and then wrap more sticky-side-in on top. If you wrap the first layer tightly enough to itself you won't get any slippage. Had to do the exact same thing with an XL1 a few weeks ago . . they must have gotten a bunch of those large mounts cheap or something, I have no idea what they were expecting us to do with them.
Abe Dolinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2006, 02:40 AM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,570
Rode make an accessory for solving this problem, the SM5.
http://www.rodemic.com/?pagename=Accessories

We've used it on all our Z1s to mount both Rode and Sony mics to the camera, works very well, will fit both diameters of clamps and provides very good isolation.
It is however a bit heavy but one could reduce the weight by cutting off the unused section of the metal pipe.
Bob Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2006, 01:36 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: san bruno, ca
Posts: 60
We use the MM XL Universal Minimount from Lightwave. http://www.lightwavesystems.com/prod...on/default.asp
Douglas Robbins is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:20 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network