Audio Meter says ok, but clipping is still happening? - Page 5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 9th, 2007, 11:56 PM   #61
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 201
levels

The manual on my XH-A1 says the audio levels on the camera can look fine but the audio can still be overmodulated.
Larry Vaughn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2007, 06:24 AM   #62
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD USA
Posts: 2,329
Larry, et al.

You can send line level to a mic level input on most any camera and set a "proper" level, but the audio will still be distorted. (it won't soundd good, but the level will look right.) That info is in my book, btw.

All video cmaeras I've run into share that mystery. I mean, why not have them set up so if you send line level and the input is set to mic, the meter goes WAY off scale?

Check to make sure your gozouta and gozinta are set porperly.

Regards,

Ty Ford
Ty Ford is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network