Audio Meter says ok, but clipping is still happening? - Page 5 at

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 9th, 2007, 11:56 PM   #61
Major Player
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 200

The manual on my XH-A1 says the audio levels on the camera can look fine but the audio can still be overmodulated.
Larry Vaughn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2007, 06:24 AM   #62
Inner Circle
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD USA
Posts: 2,317
Larry, et al.

You can send line level to a mic level input on most any camera and set a "proper" level, but the audio will still be distorted. (it won't soundd good, but the level will look right.) That info is in my book, btw.

All video cmaeras I've run into share that mystery. I mean, why not have them set up so if you send line level and the input is set to mic, the meter goes WAY off scale?

Check to make sure your gozouta and gozinta are set porperly.


Ty Ford
Ty Ford is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:36 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network