Letus extreme // external monitor at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Alternative Imaging Methods

Alternative Imaging Methods
DV Info Net is the birthplace of all 35mm adapters.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 4th, 2008, 04:16 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 49
Letus extreme // external monitor

I'm just a newbe on the A1, but having seen all the beautiful clips that were made with the Letus extreme 35 mm adapter I wondered if it's possible to use the adapter without an external (HD) monitor.

Robert
Robert Wide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2008, 06:51 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 226
I'm going to have to as I don't have the funds for one. When my Letus arrives, I'll let you know how it goes.
__________________
Canon EOS 7D, Final Cut Studio 2
Brandon Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2008, 01:17 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 26
The A1 build-in monitor doesn't show the entire image, so for setting up the Letus I had to use an external monitor in order to see how far you must zoom in and not have muddy edges around the image. I think once you have determined the best position of the Letus and tied down focus and focal length you could work without the external monitor.
Carlos Bustamante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2008, 02:25 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 49
Thanks for your quick reply, I'm looking forward to your experiences Brandon!

What sort (brand/focal length) of lenses and rods do you use?

I would love to buy a letus extreme adapter, but I urge myself to work with the A1 to get to know the camera a bit better before stepping over to the Letus. In the end I'm just an amateur ;-).

Best regards,

Robert
Robert Wide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2008, 01:13 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Posts: 396
I use the Extreme regularly without a monitor. It's by no means 'impossible' to focus with the LCD.
Dennis Murphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2008, 05:05 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 170
It's not impossible but focus clarity and sharpness will improve ten fold once a monitor is purchased. Try to get something even if it's a Tote Vision or an Ikan 8000 as long as the resolution is at least 800X480 it's a lot easier. If you really can't afford it; turn on peaking and use the zoom in button to help, I found myself forgetting to turn the unit on sometimes on a run and gun so put a sticky or something to remind you to always have it on before you press record. Other than that good luck.
Dmitry Yun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2008, 04:04 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Posts: 51
I've been looking for an answer to the same question but don't feel any closer to an answer (and I'm looking for one soon - LEX should be arriving today!).

I've read dozens of posts now, ranging from:

(a) a decent monitor is a must, particularly for paid work;
(b) don't bother, you don't need it (EX1 users saying this, even when they already owned monitors - though I also have an XH-A1)
(c) go with a DVD player, it's just as good (or nowhere near as good)

I'd love to hear from someone who has used the Letus (preferably but not necessarily on a Canon XH-A1) with and without a monitor. It would also help if you use the Letus professionally (only because mistakes mightn't seem like such a big deal for a hobbyist).

Is it essential, just slightly preferable, or would you go back and buy a few more lenses instead?
__________________
The Brown Cow Project
http://www.browncowproject.com
Vinny Flood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2008, 07:17 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
It's like asking if you can drive a car without rearview mirrors.
Sure you can, if you don't mind an accident now and then.

Sure you can shoot using a DOF adapter on an A1 without an HD monitor,
if you don't mind some of your footage being a little out of focus.

At minimum I use a Marshall mounted to camera rails, and a 32inch HD monitor on my video cart when power is available.

Bottom line... If you are an amateur just having fun with expensive toys,
then you don't have to have an external HD monitor.

If you are a paid professional then you already know the answer to the question!
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2008, 11:00 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by David W. Jones View Post
It's like asking if you can drive a car without rearview mirrors.
Sure you can, if you don't mind an accident now and then.
Great analogy David.

Is anyone having success using a 500-800 ($1000-$1600 on-camera monitor? If so, which one?

Would LOVE to hear from UK users who purchased a good LCD monitor in that price range in the UK. Marshall monitors are very hard to come by over here, and ridiculously expensive when you do.
__________________
The Brown Cow Project
http://www.browncowproject.com
Vinny Flood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2008, 09:09 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
I've been having good results with the varizoom "swit" 7" monitor. It's not quite as good as the marshall, but I'm happy with it.
Bruce yarock
Yarock Video & Photography
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2008, 07:02 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce S. Yarock View Post
I've been having good results with the varizoom "swit" 7" monitor. It's not quite as good as the marshall, but I'm happy with it.
Bruce yarock
Yarock Video & Photography
That's exactly what I needed to hear. The SWIT is readily available in the UK and not too expensive either. My main concern is focusing. I know the SWIT isn't anything like true HD, but that's simply out of the question on my current budget.

Anyone else satisfied with the SWIT?
__________________
The Brown Cow Project
http://www.browncowproject.com
Vinny Flood is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Alternative Imaging Methods

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:03 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network