Canon FD Lense Canon A1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Alternative Imaging Methods

Alternative Imaging Methods
DV Info Net is the birthplace of all 35mm adapters.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 12th, 2008, 12:40 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 288
Canon FD Lense Canon A1

So i've just got a redrock and 80-200 1.4 canon fd lens, but i can't seem to focus! Does anyone know how much the Canon A1 should be zoomed in on the ground glass? Also the focus?
__________________
Loren Simons
Loren Simons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2008, 12:42 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: PERTH. W.A. AUSTRALIA.
Posts: 4,356
Loren.


Since no one else has stepped up yet, here goes from a non-M2 person who also has absolutely no familiarity with the A1 so you are listeing to a blind man.

You might need to email Redrock for some fit-up info.


As I understand things, there is some setting up to do with the M2. According to folklore here in the past, the setting up can be finicky but a very worthwhile result can be had in the end.

The Canon A1 may have to be zoomed in 75% to all the way. There may also need to be a close-up lens attached to the front of the A1. You will commonly find this lens described variously as a macro, close-up lens, achromat (shortform for achromatic dioptre).

If the Canon A1 on its own, cannot focus sharply and zoom-in to frame tight on an object 24mm wide situated 3" to 5" (`125mm ) distant from front of camera lens, then a close-up lens will be needed.

So, when you got the Redrock, did you receive a separate add-on lens with it or is there built into the back of the M2, a lens which sits very close to the rear of the adaptor?

Answer that one firstly for the collective here and then we shall see if we can go forward one more next step.

Last edited by Bob Hart; March 12th, 2008 at 12:43 PM. Reason: error
Bob Hart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 03:35 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 916
I believe you'll need the take the unit apart, change the motor position and check etc. until you get your flange to focus distance correct. If you have a micrometer, distance from the FD flange to the spinning disc should be 42mm +- .01mm. The video on lens collimation here will help :-)

Cheers,
Dennis.
Dennis Wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2008, 09:00 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 42
iv bin using the m2 and the canon a1 with the nikon mount. i have to zoom in
to 72. use peaking and the focuses magnify.

i just got a sgpro because i was tiered of trying to get a sharp picture edge to edge with the m2.

now i can use my 20mm nikon and it looks good and sharp with no hassles.
Rumi Geiger is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Alternative Imaging Methods

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:41 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network