Can I change lens mounts on my Brevis? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Alternative Imaging Methods

Alternative Imaging Methods
DV Info Net is the birthplace of all 35mm adapters.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 24th, 2008, 03:11 PM   #1
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
Can I change lens mounts on my Brevis?

I have a Brevis that is currently set up for Canon FD mount lenses, but for a few reasons, might want to switch to either Nikon or Canon EF mounts.

Do I need to sell my Brevis and buy a new one or can the lens mounts be swapped (by the factory or myself)?

Thanks!
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2008, 06:06 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Dylan: If I recall right, you can actually buy and adapter (regular 35 still) that converts Canon mount to Nikon..... I know some adapter companies just suggest doing that....
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2008, 07:13 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: kentucky, USA
Posts: 429
No need to purchase a whole other adapter. Here are your choices...and changing the mounts on the Brevis adapter is easier than changing a light bulb. Just loosen,(but no need to remove), the four set screws behind the lens mount and the mount slides right out. Slide the new lens mount of your choice in its place and re-snug the set screws. You're done:-)

http://www.cinevate.com/catalog/inde...abf2f855267088
Steve Witt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 11:21 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
Thanks guys!
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2008, 06:25 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Munich Germany , Singapore ,NSW Australia
Posts: 419
just remember to reset or check for back focus for every time you change lens mount or lens...
__________________
Website: http://www.Motiononcanvas.com Camera Operator in Sydney Australia and Singapore.
David Chia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2008, 03:00 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 916
Dylan once you've "micro-collimated" one of our mounts (using the built in system), the others should be fine. One thing we can't fix is lenses that themselves have collimation errors, however the adjustment is there to address this if you want to. One of the DP's we worked with on our "Undertow" project identified a .015mm error with one of our LOMO lenses and actually corrected for this on our OCT19 mount every time he used that particular lens.

Cheers,
Dennis
Dennis Wood is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Alternative Imaging Methods

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network