4:4:4 10bit single CMOS HD project - Page 53 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Alternative Imaging Methods

Alternative Imaging Methods
DV Info Net is the birthplace of all 35mm adapters.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 16th, 2004, 05:11 AM   #781
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Buenos Aires , Argentina
Posts: 444
Ok, as you like.I'm not trying to start a war or say your filter doesn't work :).
If you think it is not suitable for this material, it's O.K. for me.
I have a couple of problems now that won't let me do anything with the machine I'm using.
Could you give me .Tiff frame from a Bayer camera to work with?


Edit:
Oh well, lastly I'm not sure wich image format it opens, so I guess it should open tiff, as some cameras output this format.
Anyway don't worry about what I say, cause I have no interest at this moment about modifying it to accept anything.
Juan M. M. Fiebelkorn is offline  
Old July 16th, 2004, 06:35 AM   #782
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 1,095
DCRAW only works with RAW camera files. Those Canon "TIFF" files, are in fact raw files, not true TIFF files, the extension is quite misleading there.

My main gripe with DCRAW is the zippering effect on the edges (look at the watch-you have to mouse over the image to see the DCRAW output), and the color moiré that also occurs on highlights, etc. If you don't believe me about the results of DCRAW, just go over to www.dpreview.com, and do a search on their forums about DCRAW, and you'll see the same complaints (mainly color moiré is the biggie).

If you'll notice on the Canon output, there are no zippered edges, and yes, while the DCRAW dynamic range is better, the actual interpolation I don't believe is better than what Canon provides in their SDK.

BTW, here's an idea. Can you guys reverse engineer from the DCRAW software a canon .CRW file, so that with Rob's program, you can then use the Canon tools to interpolate the files (because it thinks it's from a Canon camera)?
Jason Rodriguez is offline  
Old July 16th, 2004, 08:02 AM   #783
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 1,414
I will be testing that plugin today and have a report later on ;)

I hope that it's good enough to use for the filmout we are going to do with this footage soon ;)
Obin Olson is offline  
Old July 16th, 2004, 09:27 AM   #784
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: United Kindom, England
Posts: 290
COOL!! JUST THOUGHT OF SOMETHING

First of all, i'm sorry if anyone else has raised this already, so please forgive me if this has been covered already,

BUT......

On the problem of storage, i was thinking why not use solid state?

Whatya guys thinks?

here is a quick google brought up:

E- Disk(R) SAN 48 FLASH SSD

Up to 2.5 million IOPS
Up to 16GB/sec Sustained Read Rate
Up to 9GB/sec Sustained Write Rate
48U cabinet: 295GB - 16.5TB
96 x 2Gbit (200MB/s) host ports
Remote/Local Software Management

And other such products


http://www.bitmicro.com/products_enterprise_net_ssd.php

please reply soon, i would like your take on this
Anhar Miah is offline  
Old July 16th, 2004, 09:33 AM   #785
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN (USA)
Posts: 358
Re: COOL!! JUST THOUGHT OF SOMETHING

Quote:
Anhar Miah wrote:
On the problem of storage, i was thinking why not use solid state?
It certainly looks good, the main issue would be cost.
Rob Scott is offline  
Old July 16th, 2004, 10:34 AM   #786
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: United Kindom, England
Posts: 290
i'm hoping more searching may bring up cheaper/ budget options.

Like i said earlier that was a quick search, i'll look later, if anyone else knows of any cheap options please tell us about it!!


Questions:

(a)What compression schemes are you guys considering?
(b)Would the CPU be fast enough to do compression in real-time before writing to disk, if so generally how fast a CPU would be appropiate (3.0 GHz?)

thanks,

(again sorry if these have been asked before)
Anhar Miah is offline  
Old July 16th, 2004, 10:52 AM   #787
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Yes a 3GHz P4 is fast enough. We have been experimented with direct 10/12bit bayer compression and achieved compression frame rate of around 60fps using 1280x720 sources using a single P4 with a fast memory bus (standard these days.) For 1920x1080 we expect the encoding rate to be around 30fps. These figures were gathered from a variant of the CineForm HD (CFHD) codec used within Aspect HD and Prospect HD. We are investigating the marketability of this type product.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline  
Old July 16th, 2004, 11:42 AM   #788
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 1,414
Ben did a good job. Check the images out:

http://www.dv3productions.com/test_i...en_test_on.jpg
http://www.dv3productions.com/test_i...n_test_off.jpg
Obin Olson is offline  
Old July 16th, 2004, 02:11 PM   #789
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: chicago
Posts: 434
Juan -- no worries, I was just trying to understand what you were saying.

Jason: I looked at the dcraw source, and it looks like they've documented the bayer patterns and file formats of each camera's RAW file pretty clearly. It should be a trivial effort to generate CRW's from any image -- bayer mosaic or not. I guess my question is: why? Is the Canon interpolation amazing enough to go through the effort?

Obin: thanks man! If you guys want to source to integrate into your app, let me know (it's pretty basic).

- ben
Ben Syverson is offline  
Old July 16th, 2004, 02:24 PM   #790
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Buenos Aires , Argentina
Posts: 444
Guys, I need a quick answer :D

What output format does the capture software output?
Can I get an AVI with the RAW video inside???
I'm trying to make a proof of concept codec with some guy, and we need to know what we are working with.

What do you think about using MXF as container?
Juan M. M. Fiebelkorn is offline  
Old July 16th, 2004, 03:21 PM   #791
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 1,414
our capture software will support output of avi tiff jpeg maybe cineon - we will use any of the compressors for avi it would be nice to have 10bit native if someone has any ideas?
Obin Olson is offline  
Old July 16th, 2004, 03:32 PM   #792
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: chicago
Posts: 434
I don't know about AVI, but in Quicktime, there are a few options:
Blackmagic 10-bit
Microcosm from Digital Anarchy
None16 from Digital Anarchy

Juan, why do you need the files in AVI format if you're designing a new codec?
Ben Syverson is offline  
Old July 16th, 2004, 04:22 PM   #793
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Buenos Aires , Argentina
Posts: 444
Obin,

Well that's the idea ;)

Ben,
Because it is a VFW codec.Just that :D
AVI is still the easiest container to work with under Windows environment , although it has a little overhead.
Codecs and containers are different things.
After some more testings, we get realtime 4.5:1 lossless compression for Green channel for a 1920x1080 Bayer.
Nice, isn't it?

The idea is: the same codec would support RAW Bayer Lossles and Near-Lossles (A.K.A. not so lossy), RGB and YUV 4:4:4 formats.
This way everybody could go NLE with the same codec the camera uses.
Ah, it is only meant for 1920x1080.
Juan M. M. Fiebelkorn is offline  
Old July 16th, 2004, 04:25 PM   #794
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
The problem with VfW codec is they can only export 8bit data in RGB, no YUV support and no deeper color supported. You should consider doing a DirectShow codec as it allows you to define custom pixel formats. I used the FOURCC codes BYR1 and BYR2. BYR1 supports 8bit packed raw bayer data from DirectShow and BYR2 is 16bit packed (with 12bit precision). If you use these FOURCC codes our codecs would be interchangable.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline  
Old July 16th, 2004, 04:47 PM   #795
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 1,414
David, we want to support your codec for capture..can you provide anything?

Juan I see NO solution for editing 10bit unless David and CineForm jump in soon...I think if we could capture in 10bit compressed and then transcode over at 8bit when the NLE does it's renders etc that would be fine. This way we can open the 10bit compressed files in after effects and combustion for color work save 8bit and edit.

The biggest problem at the moment is if we want 10bit we must save 16bit tiff files and they are HUGE..no need for this at all..we need a codec/format that is a 10bit lossless compressed MASTER. Later in the editing pipeline it can be 8bit...
Obin Olson is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Alternative Imaging Methods

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:20 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network