View Full Version : Question about Canopus ADVC-110 analog to DV box

David Stoneburner
June 14th, 2005, 07:50 AM
I just upgraded my student editors to PPro 1.5. I was using P6.5 and DV500 cards for analog capture. So now with PPro I have a Panasonic deck for DV capture and a Canopus ADVC-110 for analog transfer. What I have noticed is that when the Canopus box is pluged in to firewire port, the Panasonic deck is not recognized by Premiere. It is by the OS, but not by Premiere. So it seems that I can't have both plugged in at the same time and operational. This is not a huge problem, but I'm just wondering if I am missing something.
Any ideas?


Rob Lohman
June 16th, 2005, 02:33 AM
As far as I understand / read that is correct. Only one DV device per computer.

However, can't the deck do analog <-> DV as well? Most decks can. So there
may not even be a need for the Canopus device?

David Stoneburner
June 16th, 2005, 09:23 AM
Thanks for the reply. The deck will do analog out, but it does not do the anaolog pass-thru for input, so I had to go with the Canopus box for analog input into the systems. Because they are editing labs, I didn't want to go with having users record to DV and then transfer into the systems when they are using analog as a source. I might try to find some kind of firewire A/B switch if there is any such thing.


Dan Euritt
June 21st, 2005, 07:10 AM
since it's an editing lab, isn't the end goal to capture the analog footage to the computer hard drive?

sounds like what you need is a software app that'll see the live incoming dv feed off of the canopus unit, and start recording from there... unless i'm missing something here?

what's that overpriced software that runs on a laptop, with all the color correction controls and such? can't think of the name of it :-/ but i bet that there is an educational discount.