View Full Version : Editing


Amit Zinman
December 25th, 2005, 07:59 AM
Hi,
I would really love to hear you experience with editing JVC HDV material. So far I only heard of people using FinalCut. Is any of you using Avid? So far I ran into problems using Avid. Their website states that Avid does not fully support JVC HDV tape and camera so you cannot perform batch loggin because of frame inaccuracy. Can anyone confirm this? If so, how come Final Cut can do this?

Amit

David Newman
December 25th, 2005, 11:06 AM
Currently Avid and FinalCut do not natively support the 24 and 25p modes of the HD100U. The only NLEs that fully support the JVC camera without jumping through hoops are PC based. CineForm's Aspect HD and Prospect HD for Adobe Premiere Pro, Connect HD for Sony Vegas, Canopus Edius and I think ULead supports the JVC camera.

Stephen L. Noe
December 25th, 2005, 11:36 AM
Hello,

I offer this PDF which is the current situation with ProHD (2005)
Click here for PDF (http://www.jvcpro.co.uk/getResource2/e1_nle_compatibility_chart.pdf?id=6131)

I personally use Avid Liquid which supports 720p30 end to end including time code, EDL, match frame and dump to tape for the HD100 and the BR50 deck. It has been great so far. I, like everyone, am waiting for 24p support directly in the NLE without work arounds.

I really think that every major NLE will support ProHD (HDV1) either fully or with an intermediate codec by NAB '06. That's my speculation, but we'll see.

Peter Shindler
December 25th, 2005, 08:40 PM
Stephen, What are some of the work arounds? I am trying to figure out what to do, as I have Avid 5.2, and about 30 hours of JVC stuff that I want to get to editing. Is there any way to do this on Avid, or do I need to drive to my friends house to use Premiere till they come out with support?

John Schlesinger
December 25th, 2005, 10:04 PM
As far as I can tell Ulead Media Studio 8 Does not yet fully Support 24P. The Support Site for it says they are working on it. In any case, I tried the Demo. I have tried every version of ulead so far and have yet to be satisfied. Although it is greatly improved over previous versions. Anyway, The Cineform/Premiere demo worked great and seems to be the only thing working that I have tried. Premiere Pro is also great.

Steve Mullen
December 26th, 2005, 12:25 AM
Their website states that Avid does not fully support JVC HDV tape and camera so you cannot perform batch loggin because of frame inaccuracy. Can anyone confirm this? If so, how come Final Cut can do this? Amit

You didn't say if you need 24p or 30p editing?

Why do you need batch capture?

The answers to these questions determine whether Avid supports the JVC.

As far as I'm concerned, shooting 30p, the Avid supports the JVC fine. I would never shuttle HDV tape marking shots. I would simply capture the whole tape and let Scene Detect find my scenes. Then delete the ones I don't want.

Peter Shindler
December 26th, 2005, 07:37 AM
I am shooting 24p, and Avid can't get it any way I slice it. Is there a way, like how you have to get FCP to detect the 24p stuff, out there right now? or is using Premiere or Final Cut the best bet for now?