View Full Version : My Monitor displays 720p 60 instead of 24


Brian Duke
December 31st, 2005, 11:52 PM
Hey I am using the LMD230WS Sony Monitor and when I hook it up to my HD100 the display says 720p 60, not 720 24p. Anyone know if that is the case or is there something wrong with my monitor or wrong settings on HD100. All I shoot is 24p, not 60.

PS> this monitor is sick. =)

Tim Dashwood
December 31st, 2005, 11:59 PM
Hey I am using the LMD230WS Sony Monitor and when I hook it up to my HD100 the display says 720p 60, not 720 24p. Anyone know if that is the case or is there something wrong with my monitor or wrong settings on HD100. All I shoot is 24p, not 60.

PS> this monitor is sick. =)

That's correct. 720P60 is the HD standard. The 24 frames are put into a 60P stream with a 2:3 pulldown. However, the "live" output will actually show 48P within the 60P in a 1:1:1:2 pattern. Of course only 24 of those frames are actually written to tape.

Brian Duke
January 1st, 2006, 12:11 AM
So I am OK? I hope. Meaning my footage is still 24p? Hey how do I check in FCP if my footage is actually 24p? Can I count the frames, and if so, how?

=) Happy New Year.

Tim Dashwood
January 1st, 2006, 12:20 PM
So I am OK? I hope. Meaning my footage is still 24p? Hey how do I check in FCP if my footage is actually 24p? Can I count the frames, and if so, how?

=) Happy New Year.

Yep. It's 24P. You can count the frames one at a time and see that each one is unique. If you get 2 duplicates and then 3 duplicates in that repeating pattern, then you are viewing 24P in a 2:3 pulldown in a 60P file.
Therefore a total of 24 unique frames spread over 60 frames within 1 second of tape. Make sense?

Are you on a mac? Programs such as HDVxDV and Lumiere HD will removed the repeated frames and create a 24fps (or 23.98fps) file with just the frames you want.

I emailed a response to your other questions.

Guy Barwood
January 1st, 2006, 04:58 PM
Coming from a PAL land I have not really seen 2:3 pulldown before. Does the fact that every subsequent frame get displayed for a different period of time (1/30sec then 1/20sec then 1/30sec etc) cause any flickering of the image?

Nate Weaver
January 1st, 2006, 05:53 PM
If it does, then those of us in the states are so used to it that we think it looks "right".

I don' think flicker would be the word for it anyway...stuttering or judder would be more like it.

24fps originated material displayed at 60hz, unless shot with pan rates too high, looks very smooth to me.

Barry Green
January 2nd, 2006, 02:16 AM
So I am OK? I hope. Meaning my footage is still 24p?
Your RECORDED footage will be 24p. The live footage that you're seeing on the monitor won't be, it'll be 48p carried within a 60p stream. But what you get on tape will be 24p.

Hey how do I check in FCP if my footage is actually 24p? Can I count the frames, and if so, how?
Well, I imagine you could film a stopwatch or something and count the frames in post...