View Full Version : EDIUS does 24p!


Steve Mullen
October 17th, 2006, 05:48 AM
Running EDIUS V4 on my MacBook I had captured some 1080/24p using the Canopus HQ codec using "23.98 over 59.94". This is likely an HDCAM setting.

Tonight I had time to try creating Sequences.

1) HDV 1080/29.97i showed the pulldown perfectly. The two judder frames were as they should be.

2) HDV 1080/23.98p -- which I assume is intended for the Canon -- seems to work fine.

So -- we have a big step toward 24p. Now if EDIUS had DVI output like Liquid, I could see on my HDTV.

The TC is 24p and the judder frames are gone. So maybe more than a step -- a solution.

Steve Mullen
October 22nd, 2006, 06:11 PM
Tonight I tried exporting an "HDV 1080/23.98p" Sequence to a HDV file. Amazingly, the only option was "HDV 1080/29.97i" which was exactly what I wanted.

But, would pulldown be applied correctly during export?

I brought the exported file into a "HDV 1080/29.97i" Timeline.

The proper 3:2 pulldown was present with the A frame on "00 as it should be.

So there is one TOTAL 24p solution!

Also found out that I can connect my MacBook via DVI to my 50-inch Sony and clone the laptop desktop. The Recorder monitor is so large on a 50-inch monitor that it can easily be used for CC.

Piotr Wozniacki
October 23rd, 2006, 01:26 PM
Also found out that I can connect my MacBook via DVI to my 50-inch Sony and clone the laptop desktop. The Recorder monitor is so large on a 50-inch monitor that it can easily be used for CC.
Steve, how do you configure Edius to have just the Recorder monitor window on a separate desktop? Both the Recorder and Player monitors share the same window. It's much easier in Mediastudio Pro or AP Pro, but with Edius?

Steve Mullen
October 23rd, 2006, 07:16 PM
Steve, how do you configure Edius to have just the Recorder monitor window on a separate desktop?

You can't. But with a 50-inch monitor about 8 feet away, the quarter-screen Record monitor is about that of a 24-inch monitor. Which for CC is very clear.

Liquid does the job correctly as does FCP. But, neither support 24p.

EDIUS does have a board that outputs HS-SDI.

Andrew Clark
November 1st, 2006, 04:51 PM
Steve -

Just to clarify here, the footage you are mentioning here...did you acquire it from the V1U?

And are you using Edius Pro or Broadcast?

Mark Williams
November 1st, 2006, 05:29 PM
Steve,

I've been using the trial version of Edius 4 for about 2 weeks now and really like it. I am a long time Premiere 6.5 user and have been looking for a new application that I am comfortable with since I am upgrading to the HVX200 to use the DVCpro50 format. Any ideas of how to get just the monitor window out to a TV monitor with displaying the whole work screen. I know the NX board will do it, but at $1500 for Edius 4 and the NX board that is out of my range. I can afford the broadcast Edius4 version at $998.

Regards,

Steve Mullen
November 1st, 2006, 07:27 PM
Steve -

Just to clarify here, the footage you are mentioning here...did you acquire it from the V1U?

And are you using Edius Pro or Broadcast?


Yes -- from the V1. I'm uing Broadcast but it makes no difference if you are using HDV.

There is no external monitor support. Canopus is still in the HD-SDI age not the HDMI new-age. But, if you mirror to a 50" monitor as I do -- the Record monitor is quite big.

Andrew Clark
November 2nd, 2006, 09:14 PM
Steve -

When you say "mirror", are you referring to displaying what you have on your computer monitor (meaning the entire desktop) on a external monitor? (Like they do at tradeshows).