PC1000 3CMOS system in a HC1/A1/FX1/Z1? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > Area 51

Area 51
We can neither confirm nor deny its existence.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 18th, 2005, 04:31 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,947
PC1000 3CMOS system in a HC1/A1/FX1/Z1?

Is it possible and if so someone who reads this must try to do it! A 3CMOS system from the PC1000 put into a HC1, A1, FX1 or Z1 would produce astonishing results!
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2005, 06:08 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,947
I've seen that a ton of people have seen this so if you're planning to do it, post here when you've finished or you can post an impossibility.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2005, 06:43 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 416
The PC1000 uses 3 x 670k pixels to make a SD image. Their might be some pixel shift but that is unknown. The HC1 has a 3MP Cmos that scans and debayers 2Mp.

The problem is that it is impossible to move the pc1000 setup into the HC1. The Control structure of the CMOS chips are different (gain and sampling commands are not the same) and the PC1000 has 3 times the digital outputs. You would need a multiplexor to try and deal with that and at that point its almost as well to design and built your own camera. In short its easier to design and build your dream camcorder than to move one imaging setup from one camera to another if they are different models.
Keith Wakeham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2005, 05:50 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,947
At least someone's gotta try to do it! If you don't try you'll never know!
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2006, 07:16 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 155
Jack, it can't be done and there is nothing magical about CMOS. It has its own problems, just like CCD does.
Petr Marusek is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > Area 51

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:16 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network