Atomos Ninja + NEX-VG10 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Atomos Ninja / Samurai / Shogun

Atomos Ninja / Samurai / Shogun
HD-SDI field recorders supporting a variety of codecs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 27th, 2011, 07:39 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 220
Atomos Ninja + NEX-VG10

I have had a VG10 since it released and been pretty pleased with the results I've been able to achieve with it. I decided to pick up a Ninja to experiment with quality differences and grading benefits of the uncompressed 10bit 422 workflow.

I have two questions. One, do I have to turn off the menu in the settings for that information not to be sent through hdmi? Essentially making me make all shooting adjustments then turning off the display, then recording?

Two, I'm not sure why but I assumed the Ninja could convert and record framerates on the fly regardless of the incoming framerate. Is this not true?

Thanks,

-burk
Jason Burkhimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2011, 03:23 AM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 20
Re: Atomos Ninja + NEX-VG10

Hi Jason

No, the Ninja can't convert framerates on the fly. It would be much more expensive if it did.

We would record anything that comes across the HDMI - so you would have to turn off anything that was putting stuff in the HDMI feed before you record.

Best regards

Dave Shapton
President, Atomos EMEA
David Stuart Shapton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2011, 08:46 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 220
Re: Atomos Ninja + NEX-VG10

Thanks for the reply, neither of these issues were problems for me, I think I just misunderstood its functions having only used the Nanoflash with hdsdi.

-burk
Jason Burkhimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2011, 09:37 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 624
Re: Atomos Ninja + NEX-VG10

Hi Burk,

With every Sony camcorder I've ever used, the overlays in the viewfinder or camera LCD work independently of the external video output overlays. In other words, you CAN have the overlay information appearing on the camera displays, but in the camera menu, turn overlays OFF for the video output. So, you do NOT have to work without any overlay info in order to get a clean output to Ninja, you should be able to "have it both ways".

Jeff Pulera
Safe Harbor Computers
__________________
Jeff Pulera
Safe Harbor Computers
Jeff Pulera is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Atomos Ninja / Samurai / Shogun

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network