Samurai with a OCZ SSD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Atomos Ninja / Samurai / Shogun

Atomos Ninja / Samurai / Shogun
HD-SDI field recorders supporting a variety of codecs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 13th, 2011, 01:56 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Samurai with a OCZ SSD

I just got a 120GB SSD that I have installed in my Samurai, and initially it is working fine. I shot 8-9 clips in ProRes HQ, played them back on the Samurai and it seems to be okay. I was searching a few videos on youtube from NAM and Atomos was demoing this early version and someone mentioned that it is only compatible with Intel SSDs. Is this true? What should I be looking out for? Because it seems fine but I am planning on shooting some "important footage" tomorrow and don;t want any surprises.
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2011, 04:24 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posts: 292
Re: Samurai with a OCZ SSD

There is a list of drives on this page that they have tested.

The Samurai - HDMI ProRes HD/SD-SDI Recorder
Bob Willis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2011, 08:50 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Re: Samurai with a OCZ SSD

Thanks Bob. I had already seen that page and they list only the intel x25 SSDs. I realize that is all they have tested with but unfortunately that is not a model that I had access to. I am using the OCZ SSD and so far so good. I have only shot about 10 minutes but it is behaving properly.

I was hoping someone else is using a "non-intel" SSD that might be able to comment.
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2011, 09:19 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Merritt Island, Florida
Posts: 851
Re: Samurai with a OCZ SSD

Marty...I don't know this empirically, but I think the 'Samurai' will work with a wide variety of SSDs & HDDs, Atomos probably doesn't have the wherewithal to test every model in the market. The 'technology' is somewhat standard to be able to successfully operate in numerous platforms, e.g., laptops, notebooks, etc. The HDDs I have aren't the 'exact' model number listed on the Atomos website, but they are from a recognized OEM (Western-Digital) and are in the same 'model' class (Scorpio Black) as the recommended HDDs. I think the 'bottom-line' is, if it works, it works. With that said, OCZ 'Drives' unfortunately don't have a great reputation in general.

JMHO, YMMV.

J.
James Kuhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2011, 12:05 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posts: 292
Re: Samurai with a OCZ SSD

So, how did it go Marty?
The shoot turn out alright?
Bob Willis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2011, 01:34 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Re: Samurai with a OCZ SSD

The shoot went great, with regards to the technical side. The Samura worked great at capturing. I didn't even use the tape as a backup, I just rolled the Samurai using the touch screen.

I will say this. The screen on the Samurai is almost worthless for anything other than verifying framing and that you are recording. In a pretty dark room, with lights only on the talent, the Samurai looked very dark. When I connected a 24" tv to to the component out of the H1, the image is much, much brighter and more in-line with the EVF. I used the TV to monitor all recording and focusing and only referenced the Samurai to start/stop recording. So.....unless some firmware updates come and tweak the display settings, this thing is an awesome recorder, and a subpar monitor for 90% of applications.
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2011, 05:23 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Merritt Island, Florida
Posts: 851
Re: Samurai with a OCZ SSD

Marty...great to hear!

J.
James Kuhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2011, 01:06 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Re: Samurai with a OCZ SSD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty Hudzik View Post
So.....unless some firmware updates come and tweak the display settings, this thing is an awesome recorder, and a subpar monitor for 90% of applications.
The resistive touchscreen on the front is going to always make this a terrible monitor for exposure or color judging.

Considering the on camera LCD isn't much better, I've just learned to know what a given histogram reading is going to look on the good reference monitor, and away I go. In other words, learn the camera, don't rely on small cheap monitors. There's very, very few of them good enough to look anything like the final image.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2011, 02:46 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Re: Samurai with a OCZ SSD

Well my camera (XLh1) happens to have probably thee worst LCD/EVF of any HD camera ever....with no histograms or focus/exposure assists other than peaking/zebra patterns. It is very small and laggy too. So, I am disappointed that it is not a step up from this monitor but I am happy that the unit functions as a recorder.

Incidentally I have had this camera for 51/2 years so I am very familiar with the EVF, but that doesn't mean I wasn't looking forward to something better. The sad thing is that the image on the screen is pretty decent but it looks 2-3 stops lower than the actual footage. That is my main concern....and it's not a brightness setting as the menu buttons and overlays are bright and crisp.

Maybe mine is defective?
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2011, 03:34 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Victoria Australia
Posts: 246
Re: Samurai with a OCZ SSD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate Weaver View Post
The resistive touchscreen on the front is going to always make this a terrible monitor for exposure or color judging.

Considering the on camera LCD isn't much better, I've just learned to know what a given histogram reading is going to look on the good reference monitor, and away I go. In other words, learn the camera, don't rely on small cheap monitors. There's very, very few of them good enough to look anything like the final image.

I don't use the samurai for colour checking or focus. I either use the LCD or a TV-Logic 5.6 on top.
__________________
Peter Corbett
Powerhouse Productions www.php.com.au
Peter Corbett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2011, 08:52 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 119
Re: Samurai with a OCZ SSD

i'm using the Samsung 470 series 128gb SSD with my new Samurai. shot 720p60 all day - at Pro Res 422 - no hiccups.
__________________
____
www.kittyguerrilla.com
Ed David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2011, 03:47 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Re: Samurai with a OCZ SSD

I sent back my OCZ SSD and got an Intel 320 series. In all fairness the OCZ never presented any problems, but the Intel went on sale for just $10 over the OCZ and I could not pass that up. If not just for the peace of mind that the Intel SSDs have a more proven track record. I have shot 3-4 hours of footage and it's working like a champ. Initially the difference in price from the OCZ to the Intel was $70-80....so it was a decent savings....but when it went on sale I couldn't justify not going with the Intel.
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Atomos Ninja / Samurai / Shogun

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:53 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network