Anyone recording from a Sony NX5u? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Atomos Ninja / Samurai / Shogun

Atomos Ninja / Samurai / Shogun
HD-SDI field recorders supporting a variety of codecs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 20th, 2012, 05:57 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cameron Park, CA
Posts: 50
Anyone recording from a Sony NX5u?

I am trying to decide between an EX series cam and the NX5 + Ninja or Samurai.
Is anyone out there using this combo (NX5 + External Recorder)?
I would love to see some 4:2:2 footage to compare with my knowledge of the XDCAM EX series.

Thanks!

Andrew

ps - We edit on the windows platform, specifically using Sony Vegas, so any format will work just fine.
Andrew Bower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2012, 11:18 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: Anyone recording from a Sony NX5u?

I'll have to stop you at Windows and Sony Vegas.

In my experience with ProRes files on Vegas, if you're working on a large project, having too many files loaded will result in completely black clips. You will also suffer from black frames during preview.

Be prepared to split your projects, A LOT. And be cautious of black frames when editing. You must keep your File IO Surrogate process UNDER 1GB of memory usage to ensure no black clips (not black frames, those will happen no matter what) occur.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2012, 01:23 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Merritt Island, Florida
Posts: 851
Re: Anyone recording from a Sony NX5u?

Andrew...I have an 'NX5' and the Atomos Samurai. I am not a 'power' user, so I don't have a lot of experience using a 'field recorder', but when my friend and I ran a few tests, he said to me, "I never get video this good.", he's been in 'Broadcast' for 30-years, and is an Art Director. Considering his expertise and years of experience, I think it's a pretty good combination, for a 'sub - $4k camera.

JMHO, YMMV.

J.
James Kuhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2012, 02:23 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cameron Park, CA
Posts: 50
Re: Anyone recording from a Sony NX5u?

Excellent info!
Thanks James. I think we will end up buying a Samurai and then renting an NX5 and an EX3 to see the difference between the two. We have the time to wait!
I do love the functionality of the Z5 so I know I will like the NX5.

Andrew
Andrew Bower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2012, 02:28 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cameron Park, CA
Posts: 50
Re: Anyone recording from a Sony NX5u?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Zhang View Post
I'll have to stop you at Windows and Sony Vegas.

In my experience with ProRes files on Vegas, if you're working on a large project, having too many files loaded will result in completely black clips. You will also suffer from black frames during preview.

Be prepared to split your projects, A LOT. And be cautious of black frames when editing. You must keep your File IO Surrogate process UNDER 1GB of memory usage to ensure no black clips (not black frames, those will happen no matter what) occur.
hi Jack,

Sorry to hear you are having issues with Vegas. What version are you running? There were some issues with 11 so we don't use it for any client work at this point. Since I move data between Pro Tools and Vegas I typically use Vegas 10 32bit so I can use the import feature (not available in 64bit).

I have to tell you we have ingested so many different types of footage over the years, I can't remember any time I have had issues. We even did a project for Grass Valley where we converted some 100Mb/s 3D demo footage for them to show at IBC last year - loaded right up into Vegas and rendered out perfectly.

I don't want to turn this into a Vegas discussion, but feel free to PM me and maybe I can be of assistance?

Andrew
Andrew Bower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2012, 09:34 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Merritt Island, Florida
Posts: 851
Re: Anyone recording from a Sony NX5u?

Andrew...you're quite welcome.

I also have VP10 (64-bit) & VP11. VP11 (64-bit) was a little 'twitchy' when it first came out, but the latest download, 'Build 595', seems to be pretty stable. Again, I'm not a 'power user', so my experience is limited.

Best regards,

J.
James Kuhn is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Atomos Ninja / Samurai / Shogun

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:14 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network