Samurai with old Canon XL-H1 question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Atomos Ninja / Samurai / Shogun

Atomos Ninja / Samurai / Shogun
HD-SDI field recorders supporting a variety of codecs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 12th, 2012, 08:51 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tuckahoe, NY
Posts: 83
Samurai with old Canon XL-H1 question

I have the original Canon XL-H1. I want to continue using this camera with the Atomos Samurai.

My question is about audio and time code. The Canon XL-H1 does not have embedded time code or audio in the HD-SDI stream. How do I get the 2 channels of audio into the Samurai unit? If I use the headphone IN port, will it separate the audio to 2 channels or will it be mixed stereo? I happen to do a lot of interviews and need separate audio tracks. Can you please let me know how this would work?

Im not too concerned about the time code but how do you suppose that would work or do I use the Samurai's built in time code?

Thanks for you help with these questions.
Travis Andersen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2012, 01:00 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 880
Re: Samurai with old Canon XL-H1 question

I would go out the cameraís RCA audio to the Samuraiís Stereo Line In with something like this and RCA shorty cables. It will record two channels of stereo. I use the Samuraiís Time of Day time code when recording with my XL H1a.
Mike Sims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2012, 01:09 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tuckahoe, NY
Posts: 83
Re: Samurai with old Canon XL-H1 question

Thanks Mike. So just to be clear you can not do a channel 1 and channel 2 separated audio with this set up? It would be mixed stereo only? Is this correct

Thanks
Travis Andersen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2012, 01:54 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 880
Re: Samurai with old Canon XL-H1 question

No, sorry I wasnít clear. There will be two separate channels not mixed. You will have to get into the Samuraiís audio set up menu and tell it to record those channels because that isnít the default setting.
Mike Sims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2012, 02:09 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 880
Re: Samurai with old Canon XL-H1 question

On re-reading I think I did not answer the question you were asking. I believe you want to use the Canonís CH1 and CH2 to record two stereo pairs (four channels on the Samurai). You wonít be able to do that as I described because I believe the Canon mixes CH1 and CH2 at the RCA out. Sorry to have misled you.
Mike Sims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2012, 02:38 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tuckahoe, NY
Posts: 83
Re: Samurai with old Canon XL-H1 question

Hey Mike. No you did not mislead me. You did answer it correctly. Just want to do 2 channels of separate audio. This is great so I think I can go get one now. Thank you for your information,

Travis

Last edited by Travis Andersen; July 12th, 2012 at 03:30 PM.
Travis Andersen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2012, 05:43 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tuckahoe, NY
Posts: 83
Re: Samurai with old Canon XL-H1 question

Mike quick question. I have the Samuri and love it! Great tool I also have an XHA1 which has similar connections to the XLH1a. So how do you have yours set up to work? I would love to see or hear how you do this as I want to also use it with my XHA1. Thanks.
Travis Andersen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2012, 05:18 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 880
Re: Samurai with old Canon XL-H1 question

I use a D4 to Component Video Adapter cable (part number L5160 at <iec-usa.com>) with RCA to BNC adapters to go from the camera’s Component OUT to a BlackmagicDesign Analogue to SDI mini converter and then BNC to miniBNC cable from the converter’s SDI OUT to Samurai SDI IN. For audio, RCA shorty cables with RCA to ľ” phono adapters from camera’s Audio OUT to converter’s Audio IN. It should work for the XHA1. I have been told the man that designed the Ninja and Samurai for Atomos also designed this converter while working at BlackmagicDesign.
Mike Sims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2012, 05:23 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tuckahoe, NY
Posts: 83
Re: Samurai with old Canon XL-H1 question

Thanks for the info Mike. I was just looking at the Black Magic analog to SDI converter. They are pretty cheap and I already have all the other cables. Looks like I grab that up too. Thanks again.
Travis Andersen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Atomos Ninja / Samurai / Shogun

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:33 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network