Atomos Spyder Calibrator at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Atomos Ninja / Samurai / Shogun

Atomos Ninja / Samurai / Shogun
HD-SDI field recorders supporting a variety of codecs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 26th, 2014, 12:03 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kentish Town, London, UK
Posts: 157
Atomos Spyder Calibrator

I just placed an order for the Ninja Blade. I see that Atomos have an Atomos branded version of the Datacolor Spyder which can be used to calibrate this and the Samurai Blade.

I already own a Datacolour Spyder (version 3, not Atomos branded!). Does anyone know if and how I can use this to calibrate the screen on the Blade?

Cheers

Mark
Mark Morreau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2014, 01:22 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 431
Re: Atomos Spyder Calibrator

I have a Spider 4 and asked the same question to Atomos tech support they said no you need the Atomos branded version.
__________________
-kAj
http://www.sweetproductionmedia.com/
Kajito Nagib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2014, 08:00 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kentish Town, London, UK
Posts: 157
Re: Atomos Spyder Calibrator

That's interesing Kajito: I think you've been misinformed.

I asked the same question of Datacolor support and this is the reply I got:

"The Samurai Blade software was developed to work specifically with Spyder4. You would need a Spyder4Elite or Spyder4Pro device for it to work with the Samurai Blade. And you would need a custom connector cable from Atomos. So you can either buy the Atomos Spyder, and get the cable with it, then use the Spyder4Pro to Spyder4Elite upgrade package from the Datacolor website in order to get Datacolor software for calibrating computer displays with your Atomos Spyder. Or, you can buy a Spyder4Pro or Spyder4Elite from any reseller, and purchase the special cable from Atomos to use it to calibrate the Samurai Blade. But there is no mechanism to use a Spyder3 to calibrate the Samurai Blade."

So for me, with a Spyder 3, I have to upgrade one way or another.

Cheers

Mark
Mark Morreau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2014, 11:24 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 431
Re: Atomos Spyder Calibrator

you're right I need the ATOMCAB004 cable, Datacolor software and the upgrade.
__________________
-kAj
http://www.sweetproductionmedia.com/
Kajito Nagib is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Atomos Ninja / Samurai / Shogun

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:11 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network