24p Cineform files not importing into After Effects Correctly at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > AVCHD Format Discussion

AVCHD Format Discussion
Inexpensive High Definition H.264 encoding to DVD, Hard Disc or SD Card.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 3rd, 2007, 06:49 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rockford, MI
Posts: 8
24p Cineform files not importing into After Effects Correctly

Thanks to several posts on this forum, I have figured out most of my workflow and went out and purchased a Canon HG10. (http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=105621)


Basically I shoot in 24p and convert the .mts files to Cineform 24p (23.97) with the 3:2 pulldown removed. The files look great when played back, and they work well in Premiere.

Now, when I open the .avi files in After Effects for color correcting and such effects, the clips display upside down and poor quality in a sort of monotone with vertical lines.

Am I missing something?
Mike Behrens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2007, 07:27 AM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rockford, MI
Posts: 8
Sorry, I forgot to give my config:

Windows XP
CS3 Masters Collection
Cineform 2k
Canon HG10 Shooting at 24p

I am able to view edit and output through Premiere CS3, but the same clips look like this http://mikebehrens.com/forums/cineform_ae_problem.jpg in After Effects.

Thanks,

-Mike-
Mike Behrens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2007, 10:27 AM   #3
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Seems like you are missing the CineForm importer. Some systems have the registry/path to CS3 wrong for the installer, so the needed components are installed in the wrong place.

AE CS3 is expecting the CineForm importer in this location:
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Common\Plug-ins\CS3\MediaCore\im-CFHD_File_Import.prm

Try a reinstall of Prosect2K, and that doesn't work contact support.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2007, 06:13 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rockford, MI
Posts: 8
Thanks David.

I got it to work, somewhat, by copying the im-CFHD_File_Import.prm file from the Premiere plugins folder to the After Effects folder, but now the footage is quite desaturated in AE.

See my screenshot comparing Premiere and After Effects here.

http://mikebehrens.com/forums/prem_then_ae.jpg

Thanks,
-Mike
Mike Behrens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2007, 11:07 AM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Hmm... Should do that. Contact support, maybe you have a color profile setup wrong as the same decoder is being used in both products (so it is likely a display issue.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > AVCHD Format Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:09 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network