How will my workflow change... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > AVCHD Format Discussion

AVCHD Format Discussion
Inexpensive High Definition H.264 encoding to DVD, Hard Disc or SD Card.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 16th, 2008, 11:14 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Duke City, USA
Posts: 53
How will my workflow change...

So I am having to give up the borrowed HD7 HDD HD camcorder. I am looking at the JVC GZ-HD6, Canon HF100, HF10 and HG20. My current workflow is:

1. shoot video
2. transfer files from camera to MBP
3. open up mpegstreamclip and convert .tod files to apple DVCPRO format
4. import clips into FCP and edit

what file format does the HF/HG camera's use. At this point I am only assuming that the HD6 is still using .tod format files.

thank you,

Mark
Mark Cinense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2008, 11:34 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
I'm sorry I don't have an answer to your question, but I am really curious why you are using the DVCPro codec. That seems like a REALLY odd choice.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2008, 11:56 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Duke City, USA
Posts: 53
well, for the web, that is what I convert it to. I actually have used 1080 Apple DVC format I think that is what it is to do HD. In any case, I am having to do step 3. Will this workflow change for me with these camera's?
Mark Cinense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2008, 01:26 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brighton, Colorado
Posts: 335
On the Canon camera's you might be able to get away with using the "Log and Transfer" function in Final Cut Pro 6. Apple has great support for Canon not so much for the JVC. That was a big downfall for me a few months back when I was looking at a JVC is that it had no Apple support. The Canon's AVCHD codec should have support and transfer without using Stream-Clip. In Final Cut Pro 6 use Log and Transfer in the menu options.
__________________
Jeff Zimmerman Colorado DP Videographer
Sony PXW-FS7 www.m3films.com
Jeff Zimmerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2008, 01:39 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Duke City, USA
Posts: 53
Awesome... I guess that sells me. Do you think that a 15" MBP 2.33ghz Core 2 with 4GB of ram process this fine or do I need to upgrade my laptop?

Mark
Mark Cinense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2009, 10:00 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Duke City, USA
Posts: 53
ok, so I had the opportunity to log and transfer from a Canon HG20. It seems that the workflow is a step up from Mini DV, but not quite as simple as the GZ-HD7. On the HD7 I just mount it like a HD and copy the files over and then run MPEGStreamclip to convert... simple enough for a PC geek guy like myself.

on the HG20, we mount up the camera, then log and transfer via FCE HD. I guess what's nice is that the HG20 show's the scenes that were recorded and you select what you want.

Does anyone know if the .mts files can be converted?
__________________
Best Regards,
M A Cinense
Mark Cinense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2009, 09:30 AM   #7
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
I edit on a MacBookPro, 17", 2.6ghz duo, 23" Cinema Display. My work camera is an XH A1, but recently I got a little Sony TG1 AVCHD camera just for fun stuff.

I plug in the camera and open Log and Transfer in FCP. All the clips appear in that window almost immediately. Then I drag and drop the ones I want to the Queue window and they automatically convert to ProRes422, the setting I use. They appear in your browser, just like clips from loading tape. Simple and easy. However, ProRes takes up a lot of space. Just for home movie stuff and kid videos, I'm going to use the Apple Intermediate Codec. It takes up a lot less space and is good enough.

The ProRes conversion seems a little faster than real time, but it's not immediate.

If you don't want to convert your files but just need to clear out your camera's cards, you can plug in the camera (or card reader) and drag all the folders to a folder on your desktop. Make sure you drag everything. On my little Sony there are 4 different folders, I think. Then later you open up Log and Transfer and simply drag all the same folders there, and FCP acts just as if it's talking to the camera. Works the same. But you have to be careful and not skip any of the folders--it wants them all.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > AVCHD Format Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:02 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network