Help w/ Importing AVCHD in FCP 6.0 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > AVCHD Format Discussion

AVCHD Format Discussion
Inexpensive High Definition H.264 encoding to DVD, Hard Disc or SD Card.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 12th, 2009, 07:54 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 113
Help w/ Importing AVCHD in FCP 6.0

I recently purchased a Canon hf s10 and I'm having difficulty importing clips into FCP or IMovie.......I prefer FCP, but I wanted to see if it would work with IMovie as well.....I have a dual core Intel Mac Pro 2.66 GHz...........I plan to buy neoscene, but for now I thought I'd test out some footage...........Does the AVCHD format work in FCP 6.0, or will I have to upgrade? When trying to import I receive an error message stating "Invalid directory structure. Please choose a folder where directory structure matches the supported media."

Thanks for helping,

Reggie
Reggie Moser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2009, 03:49 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bellingham, WA
Posts: 457
You need to update to 6.0.2 or later (latest update is 6.0.5) in order to import AVCHD via log and transfer in FCP6. I have G5 and samples of AVCHD can be transcoded using Toast 9 or 10.
Robert Rogoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2009, 05:55 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 113
Thanks alot Robert, I presumed I would have to upgrade. I wasn't sure if there was a workaround
Reggie Moser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2009, 06:45 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 306
it's not an upgrade from FC6 ... it's just a software update. Works great with log and transfer.
Chuck Fadely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2009, 04:09 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 431
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reggie Moser View Post
I recently purchased a Canon hf s10 and I'm having difficulty importing clips into FCP or IMovie.......I prefer FCP, but I wanted to see if it would work with IMovie as well.....I have a dual core Intel Mac Pro 2.66 GHz...........I plan to buy neoscene, but for now I thought I'd test out some footage...........Does the AVCHD format work in FCP 6.0, or will I have to upgrade? When trying to import I receive an error message stating "Invalid directory structure. Please choose a folder where directory structure matches the supported media."

Thanks for helping,

Reggie
Reggie,

Just curious. How's it going with your new HFS10. Did you figure out a work flow? Is the transfer working OK now...Let's see some test footage.
__________________
"Get Er Done!!!"
G. Lee Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2009, 07:46 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 113
Hey G. Lee it's going pretty good so far....I'll post some footage soon
Reggie Moser is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > AVCHD Format Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:58 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network