Editing Hmc150 with Final Cut at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > AVCHD Format Discussion

AVCHD Format Discussion
Inexpensive High Definition H.264 encoding to DVD, Hard Disc or SD Card.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 28th, 2010, 11:03 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: California
Posts: 25
Editing Hmc150 with Final Cut

Hey guys i just recently went from tapes to tapeless with the hmc150. Im still a little bit new to this so hear me out. I recorded some video on my hmc150 but i cant seem to edit with final cut pro because it wont recognize the file. Is there someway i can do to fix this? Also is there a way to import the files by connecting my camera to the computer?
Anthony Nguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2010, 11:44 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
process involves taking the whole folder from the card named "AVCHD" and put it on a hard drive. (you can transfer from the card but it's slower)
Then open the "log and transfer" window in FCP and navigate to the AVCHD folder and your clips should show up. then just drag them to the transfer queue and they will convert to pro res which is a FCP-friendly format.

Make sure you have ample space on your hard drive and I believe this only works in FCS3 which is the latest.

There are two other options but require extra software purchase...Toast 10 (which you will want to purchase anyway for burning BR) or Cineform which is expensive but some say is much better. I will be trying out Cineform in a few days when my workload clears. Toast saved my butt when I got the mysterious FCP error saying "directory not valid" Mainly because it doesn't care about the rest of the folders, just the mts files.
__________________
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2010, 12:12 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: California
Posts: 25
Thanks man i really apreciate the help. I just got it to work on final cut pro! haha
Anthony Nguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2010, 03:07 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Turchick View Post
Cineform which is expensive but some say is much better
Cineform Neo Scene does do a much better job, and only costs $129 to buy.

Cineform Neoscene
Guy McLoughlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2010, 03:14 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
Ok that's not the product I was looking at...what's the difference between that and NeoHD which is $500?
__________________
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2010, 02:26 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 287
Take a look at the Cineform product grid to see how their different products compare:

Cineform Product Grid
Guy McLoughlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2010, 02:46 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
OK...I will try it out and post results!
Thanks for the info!
__________________
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2010, 12:04 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: York, England
Posts: 1,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy McLoughlin View Post
Cineform Neo Scene does do a much better job, and only costs $129 to buy.

Cineform Neoscene
Do you have any side-by-side stills to compare Cineform Neoscene to the FCP Log & Transfer results?
__________________
Qualified UAV Pilot with CAA PFAW
Aerial Photo / Aerial Video | Corporate Video Production
Dave Partington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2010, 07:00 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Partington View Post
Do you have any side-by-side stills to compare Cineform Neoscene to the FCP Log & Transfer results?
...Just download the NEO SCENE trial and test it out yourself.
Cineform Neoscene

I edit mostly under Windows ( Sony Vegas Pro 9 and Premiere CS 4.2 ), but sought out the NEO SCENE solution for the Final Cut Pro editors that I work with.

I have standardized on NEO SCENE for several reasons:

- Automatic telecine removal (24p extraction from 60i)
- Automatic deinterlacing (30p/25p from 60i/50i)
- Transcodes to 10-bit 4:2:2 color space
- Files are cross platform for Mac and PC
- Smooth editing on a fairly average computer
Guy McLoughlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2010, 07:22 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
well, maybe it's because I shoot 30p with both cameras...but I am not seeing any difference between FCP and Cineform.
Seems from the description that if the footage is interlaced, it makes a big difference.
__________________
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2010, 12:48 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Turchick View Post
well, maybe it's because I shoot 30p with both cameras...but I am not seeing any difference between FCP and Cineform
Editing in Sony Vegas Pro, I noticed a lot of difference with video from my consumer cam ( Canon HG21 ) and Canon 7D. With video from my HMC150, it was more subtle, but I found the CineForm footage to have a slightly smoother tonal range. I normally shoot 24P unless the job requires something else.
Guy McLoughlin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > AVCHD Format Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:25 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network