AVCHD capture with 64bt win 7 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > AVCHD Format Discussion

AVCHD Format Discussion
Inexpensive High Definition H.264 encoding to DVD, Hard Disc or SD Card.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 19th, 2010, 03:35 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
AVCHD capture with 64bt win 7

I have a new PC - Win 7 64 bit, and it does not recognise the AVCHD files from the Canon HF-S10 when I am trying to download files from the internal memory. Is this camera not compatible with this O/S or is it an AVCHD problem ?

There is no problem with the SD card as I simply plug it into a card reader on the same PC.

RonC.
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2010, 07:25 AM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Mary, Florida
Posts: 24
I think that you have to install the included Pixela software, and import using that, it converts the .mts file into an m2t file that is usable by your computer.
Jim Allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2010, 06:09 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sutton, Australia
Posts: 328
Hi Ron, I also have Win 7 64 bit, and a Canon HF-S10 - lots of people do, and this has not been a problem. Does your computer recognise the camera? Are you looking in the right folder? (AVCHD/BDMV/STREAM)

Jim, unless you have nothing else, you don't need the Pixela software, and it doesn't convert .mts to .m2t.
Rainer Listing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2010, 08:26 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
Thanks guys, but I have downloaded the Pixela software which I find a right royal pain.
With my previous PC, before I learned NOT to use Pixela it was a very convoluted & time consuming task to upload files, but when I simply treated the camera & SD card as another drive, it all went smoothly, as it still does now, but only for the SD in a card reader.

The camera is NOT recognised at all when plugged into the same port on this new PC running win 7 64bit. (i7/920 12g).

RonC.
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2010, 10:31 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
Is the PC online?

I have the same PC I built half a year ago. Whenever I connect a new device, Windows goes online and downloads a new driver; so if you have it offline, that might be the problem.
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2010, 10:47 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
Thanks Evan, but the PC is online & it does not attempt any connection. However, I emailed Canon & they suggested a site, and when you put all the details in, it directs you to updating the Zoom browser software (totally useless ), and then it is only for Mac O/S !
I also disabled the anti-virus & firewall & it made no difference.
I have telephoned Canon tech support & they admit they are having problems with Win 7 so that is interesting. In the meantime I am stuck with video on the internal memory which I can't use. - Modern technology - aaaaaaarrrrrrgggghh !

RonC.
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2010, 06:02 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sutton, Australia
Posts: 328
OK, let's deal with this logically:
1. Do you have the external power adapter connected to the camera when it's connected to the computer? It won't recognise the camera otherwise.
2. Did you try another USB cable/port?
3. Can you get hold of another HFS (maybe from the dealer) and see if your computer recognises that one ? - if so, it's probably warranty return. If not, it's probably a computer issue.
If nothing works, you can copy (in camera) the content from the internal memory to the card (check the manual for how to).
Rainer Listing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2010, 09:24 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
Thanks Rainer. Yes, I think the only option is to copy the files to the card, (another drama ??), and go from there. I cannot get hold of another camera and am quite familiar with its idiosyncrasies - power adapter etc. which frankly, is quite annoying, as, - if you have a large fully charged battery, and are outside with a portable laptop, you still cannot transfer your files across. - Very dumb, - even Sony I am told, got rid of that stupid protocol.

RonC.
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2010, 01:15 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sutton, Australia
Posts: 328
Ron, maybe some good news - you are not alone - check out this thread PC won't detect Canon HF S10??? - Canon HV20, HV30 & HV40 User Forum (summary, try a direct USB port, not a hub - btw this applies also to other Canon hardware, not just cameras), interested to hear what happens.
Rainer Listing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2010, 08:11 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
Thanks again Rainer but I have already been there & done that and I don't normally use a hub. This PC has never ever recognized this camera directly. I still think it is something to do with the 64bit version of Win 7.

RonC.
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2010, 01:49 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 197
I have two editing machines. One has 32-bit Win 7, one has 64-bit Win 7.

When editing AVC from my Panny TM700, LOTS of trouble on the 64-bit machine (random crashes, etc.). No hiccups on the 32-bit. So yes, I think there's a problem with the 64-bit Win 7 and AVC/AVCHD. It's bad enough that I've considered switching back to 32-bit.
__________________
Bored? Check out my blog (shot with Sony EX1, Panasonic TM700, Nikon D7100, Sony NEX-5N, GoPro2): LongLongHoneymoon.com
C.S. Michael is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > AVCHD Format Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:04 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network