AVCHD clip information at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > AVCHD Format Discussion

AVCHD Format Discussion
Inexpensive High Definition H.264 encoding to DVD, Hard Disc or SD Card.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 27th, 2011, 05:35 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Rafael, CA
Posts: 5
AVCHD clip information

Hello, is there a file within the directory structure that has info about how many clips were shot? For example, if I am given a card for transcoding with a command line encoder, and I see 3 .MTS files, how do I know if it is one spanned clip or three shorter clips (other than guessing by looking at the size)? Thanks for any help!
Jason Watkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2011, 07:00 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Re: AVCHD clip information

There has to be metadata on the card that addresses that issue, otherwise the propriatary Sony, Canon, etc. import software would not know when to stitch spanned clips together on import.
I don't know how you might access that data without using the correct import software (i.e. PMB for Sony, etc.), but it must be there on the card.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2011, 05:27 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 55
Re: AVCHD clip information

Quote:
There has to be metadata on the card that addresses that issue, otherwise the propriatary Sony, Canon, etc. import software would not know when to stitch spanned clips together on import.
Couldn't you just use the import software before the transcoding.

Spanned clips used to be a source of complaints. Are there any manufacturers left which still do not provide software to do the stitching of spanned clips automatically?
Colin Browell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2011, 08:10 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Re: AVCHD clip information

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colin Browell View Post
Couldn't you just use the import software before the transcoding.
That is certainly the way I do it.
I import all clips using the import software, so I get all of the metadata, I get the unique date encoded clip names, and I get reconstruction of spanned clips.
Once the import is done I can transcode, export, edit, whatever.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2011, 03:24 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 553
Re: AVCHD clip information

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Watkins View Post
how do I know if it is one spanned clip or three shorter clips (other than guessing by looking at the size)?
On my camera all new clips start with the sequence of bytes "00 00 00 00 47 40 00 10." If the next file doesn't start with these values, then it is a continuation of the previous clip.
Eric Olson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > AVCHD Format Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:09 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network