Playstation 3 now plays AVCHD "files". at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > AVCHD Format Discussion

AVCHD Format Discussion
Inexpensive High Definition H.264 encoding to DVD, Hard Disc or SD Card.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 23rd, 2007, 04:56 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Playstation 3 now plays AVCHD "files".

Quote:
Other new or revised features in (firmware) version 1.60:
* Video
o Motion JPEG and AVCHD (.m2ts) have been added as playable formats.
Anyone willing to test this new feature?
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2007, 09:35 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Swampscott, MA
Posts: 14
I tried the Motion JPEG last night and it worked fine, but it was scaled up. The original was from a 320x240 shot on a Canon Optura 30.

I've also tried the a 24p AVC file from a Canon HV20. The file comes from the HV20 forum ("Larry's") which was originally encoded as a Quicktime .mov. I changed it to a .mp4 by doing a Save As from MPEG Streamclip - I think this is the same thing as AVCHD. It looks amazing, but there was a glitch at the end of the recording.
Kevin Samborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2007, 01:57 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Zhang View Post
Anyone willing to test this new feature?
Jack if you can get me instruction how to burn AVCHD DVD from a Mac, I can test this. Sony software comes for Windows only so I'm screwed.
Thu N. Nguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2007, 07:14 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
I think you re-name the .MTS file on the HDD of your camera after you transfer it to .m2ts. You then put it on a flash drive, memory stick (60GB models only), or data DVD and play it back on a 1.60 PS3.

Of course, when you're creating the data DVD, you're not creating a real AVCHD disc. But I think that's the only way if you have an HDD camera and a Mac.

If you have a DVD camera, just pop the disc it created directly into the PS3.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2007, 11:52 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 19
Jack,

I'll try tonight. I did tried to put .MTS on usb flash but I didn't rename to .m2ts.

I'll let you know.
Thu N. Nguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2007, 01:08 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 19
Jack,

I copy/rename MTS to .m2ts on a USB flash. PS3 couldn't see it. from some other source tell me that I must also copy the .THM file with it. will try that tonight.

and... I may try to hook the camera directly into PS3, see what happen.

btw,
if someone can show me how AVCHD DVD structure look like, that would be great.
Thu N. Nguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2007, 01:22 PM   #7
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 3
I burnt an AVCHD DVD-R a few nights ago and it worked very well. The structure on the DVD-R is:

E:\BDMV\index.bdmv
E:\BDMV\MovieObject.bdmv
E:\BDMV\BACKUP\ <Empty>
E:\BDMV\CLIPINF\00000.clpi
\00001.clpi
\00002.clpi
\...
\00019.clpi
E:\BDMV\PLAYLIST\00000.mpls
E:\BDMV\STREAM\00000.m2ts
\00001.m2ts
\00002.m2ts
\...
\00019.m2ts

I found that there was a slight pause between scenes which is a shame but I should think that a firmware update on the PS3 will fix this.
Mark Boreham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2007, 09:46 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thu N. Nguyen View Post
Jack,

I copy/rename MTS to .m2ts on a USB flash. PS3 couldn't see it. from some other source tell me that I must also copy the .THM file with it. will try that tonight.

and... I may try to hook the camera directly into PS3, see what happen.

btw,
if someone can show me how AVCHD DVD structure look like, that would be great.
you need to press triangle when you've selected the flash drive in "Video" and select "Display all" to make the file show up.

http://manuals.playstation.net/docum...hangeview.html
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2007, 10:28 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 19
Jack,

yes I did that "Display all" and browse to the folder. it didn't show up.

I hooked the camcorder direct to PS3. it showed USB (camcorder) and can play my MPEG2 clips but the MTS still didn't show. Again I also did the display all.

I have a recent firmware 1.32 on my PS3, not the latest though. I'm not sure the AVCHD is in that version or not.

Mark Boreham, thanks for the AVCHD layout. I'll try to burn one disc and see if it can play or not.

Thu N. Nguyen
Thu N. Nguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2007, 06:04 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
You need to update to 1.60 to enable playback of AVCHD files. There's your problem, you did not update.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2007, 05:26 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
I took some of the footage posted from the Sony V1 (m2t) and put it on a USB memory stick.... put the stick into the PS3 and it played back perfect
so I know it works now... no special file structure, now I'm wondering if
you could put the same on a CD and it would play....

I'll play with that in the next day or so...
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2007, 05:20 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 19
Ray,

what firmware do you have on PS3? is it latest 1.60 ?
Thu N. Nguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2007, 09:08 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
yes its 1.60 on the PS3
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2007, 12:00 PM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 19
got mine upgrade to 1.60 last night and it now plays AVCHD fine without rename to .m2ts
Thu N. Nguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2007, 08:31 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thu N. Nguyen View Post
got mine upgrade to 1.60 last night and it now plays AVCHD fine without rename to .m2ts
Does anyone know if this works with a quicktime ".mov" file that is H.264? Or if not, how to convert such a file to something the PS3 can play?

thanks,

Nick
Nick Ambrose is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > AVCHD Format Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:49 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network