AVCHD Editing with CineForm - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > AVCHD Format Discussion

AVCHD Format Discussion
Inexpensive High Definition H.264 encoding to DVD, Hard Disc or SD Card.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 12th, 2007, 02:27 PM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 214
So I can take an AVCHD stream, load it into HDlink (version 3.4.1 build 36) and then click 'convert' and HD link will convert the AVCHD to Cineform AVI?

If I change the file name, and click on "All supported media files" the AVCHD file is unavailable.

Thanks again for the technical assistance.
Derek Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2007, 02:48 PM   #17
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Selected "All Files (*.*)" and you will be able to convert it. It will be to the "All supported..." list in the next release (called NEO HDV.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2007, 10:27 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 214
Still can't get it to work. Here's what I'm doing.

1. change original avchd file to test.avchd
2. open Cineform HDLink 2.2.5
3. Elecard and support software is installed.
4. Click on "convert"
5. Click on "all" files, and click test.avchd
6. Click "start"

I get a "progress" bar with no blue bars like when you convert normal m2t files. Then it says conversion done, but it shows up as 0 bytes and no file in the export folder.

Then the capture log says the following...

Using Moonlight/Elecard PMEG components
Using MPEG audio decoder 3
Using Super-Threaded Conversion
Convert Done
Derek Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2007, 10:36 PM   #19
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Will that file play in Window MediaPlayer (use open width..) If it doesn't the file or your Elecard installation isn't correct.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2007, 07:50 AM   #20
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ashford, AL
Posts: 937
Derek,
Do you have another computer you could try it on? I have the same problem with my desktop but it works fine on my laptop. The laptop is using Nero 7 filters. I've tried the desktop with Nero 7 and Elecard and still have the same problem. Funny thing is, HDLink will convert the audio. Gives me a 28KB audio file but no video.

It's something with the software load and may be hard to troubleshoot. I'm running XP Pro on the desktop and XP Home on the laptop. Might have something to do with it.
Guy Bruner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2007, 02:14 PM   #21
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Bruner View Post
Derek,
Do you have another computer you could try it on? I have the same problem with my desktop but it works fine on my laptop. The laptop is using Nero 7 filters. I've tried the desktop with Nero 7 and Elecard and still have the same problem. Funny thing is, HDLink will convert the audio. Gives me a 28KB audio file but no video.

It's something with the software load and may be hard to troubleshoot. I'm running XP Pro on the desktop and XP Home on the laptop. Might have something to do with it.

Interesting. I have Nero 7 and Elecard on my editing PC. Maybe the Nero is somehow blocking it? I do have another computer, maybe I will try it on the old dog.

Thanks.
Derek Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2007, 02:32 PM   #22
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
to help debug download GraphEdit (http://www.stokebloke.com/video/wmv2avi.php). Run GraphEdit then drop your m2ts file on the window. You will see something like this attached image. If you have a suitable Demux, video and audio decoder the "graph" will build and play.
Attached Thumbnails
AVCHD Editing with CineForm-graphedit.jpg  
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2007, 02:35 PM   #23
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 214
I removed Nero from the editing computer. Now Cineform just crashes every time I open it and try to convert files.

Weird.
Derek Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2007, 02:43 PM   #24
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re-install your CineForm components as Nero took something out. Verify that it works again for HDV media, then try the GraphEdit test I just posted.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2007, 10:44 PM   #25
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 214
I removed and reinstalled Cineform, no luck. I used Graphedit, no luck.

Any other suggestions?
Derek Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2007, 11:55 PM   #26
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
GarphEdit, no luck? It wasn't to make things work, it was to determine way things weren't. What graph did it build?
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2007, 08:38 AM   #27
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
GarphEdit, no luck? It wasn't to make things work, it was to determine way things weren't. What graph did it build?
OK, I dropped a file into GraphEdit. "Some of the streams are in an unsupported format."

06.m2ts (output)-(input)Elecard Pmeg Demultiplexer-(in)AC3Filter-(out)Audio Input (rendered)

So it is missing the MPEG Decoder on the Graph. So there are no 'arrows out' of the h.264. So obviously it is not rendering the video.

I clicked on the blue square to try to 'insert a filter into graph', but haven't found the appropriate filter yet.
Derek Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2007, 10:33 AM   #28
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
This suggested you haven't install the Elecard player (or similar.) Or you PC will not let you install those components. Or you have something else that is killing Elecard. Sorry I can't help with that, you will need to contact Elecard or the vendor of the components that aren't appearing in GraphEdit.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2007, 11:12 AM   #29
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
This suggested you haven't install the Elecard player (or similar.) Or you PC will not let you install those components. Or you have something else that is killing Elecard. Sorry I can't help with that, you will need to contact Elecard or the vendor of the components that aren't appearing in GraphEdit.
Thanks for your help along the way. Much appreciated.

Maybe Vegas 7 will release the AVCHD editing after NAB in a couple weeks.
Derek Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2007, 11:40 AM   #30
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Maybe they will, but it will be very slow, slower than HDV.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > AVCHD Format Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:59 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network