AVID vs. PINNACLE! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Avid Editing Family
All flavors of Media Composer, Symphony and more.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 16th, 2008, 08:51 AM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 34

Hi, I am posting a ton because I am excited I found this forum...anyways,

My question is, I currently use Pinnacle Studio 11.1 and love it, however I get frustrated from time to time with glitches and freeze ups and audio glitches. And frankly i taught myself how to video edit on pinnacle from back in the day...

I find it easiest for me to use, and I have tried Vegas, Adobe, and others and just did not like all the plug ins and effects and the layout of the program for my eyes and my ability.

SO... is Avid easier/better than pinnacle being they are the same company?

Ryan McHugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2008, 10:51 AM   #2
Inner Circle
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,195
Avid is a different... but in interface and main workflow, it's pretty much the same as the other big ones out there (Adobe and FCP)...

I started editing with Pinacle too, studio 9...
Also got very frustrated with limited possibilities, and endless crashes, lock-ups, I was a young student then. Anyhow, it served me for 2 years in school, then moved up to Premiere Pro, and now upgrading to Final Cut Studio!
Mathieu Ghekiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2008, 11:49 AM   #3
Inner Circle
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
"Easier" in what way?

AVID acquired Pinnacle Systems a couple of years back. They did not develop the Pinnacle software, but they are now responsible for supporting it going forward. I can't say if the interface is similar, but it is 'the industry standard' if that's important to you.

AVID is more demanding, so it is only 'certified' on specific computers. This means that they test it and certify it to run on these particular systems. Doesn't mean it won't run on others, but it would be impossible to test all the configuartions of motherboards, graphics cards etc. that are possible with a PC - AND ship to be stable on MAC as well. FCP is only 'certified' on MACs (And then, not all.)
Richard Alvarez is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:24 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network