Media Composer on Windows Server 2003 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Avid Editing Family
All flavors of Media Composer, Symphony and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 29th, 2008, 06:26 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 444
Media Composer on Windows Server 2003

Just wondering if anyone has experience running the latest version of Media Composer on Windows Server 2003. It's not listed as being supported by Avid - but as it's an XP base and XP is supported I just want to know if it's possible.
Craig Parkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 02:49 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 789
Craig

I don't know of anyone who has tried this.

Why would you run it on Server 2003??
__________________
David Parks: DP/Editor: Jacobs Aerospace at NASA Johnson Space Center
https://www.youtube.com/user/JacobsESCG
David Parks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2008, 03:35 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: mahopac, NY
Posts: 276
I'm sure it's probably "possible", but since every system is different (and it's not officially supported by Avid), the only way you'll know for sure if it'll run on yours is to try it.
Mike Meyerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2008, 12:59 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 85
I once tried to install Avid Xpress on Windows Server 2003. The installer did an OS check and wouldn't continue because of the "unsupported OS"

I don't know if MC does the same OS check.
Yossi Margolin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2008, 09:03 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 444
Thanks guys - have it from a reliable source that it won't work.

Reason for looking for it to run on Windows Server 2003 is that we are looking at a box with a specific other piece of software that is kitted to run on Windows Server 2003 for some of it's features - and was hoping to also be able to run Media Composer on the same set up.

As we can't do it, we just have to decide the viability of keeping the setups on machines that are separate (pros and cons - but it would have been nice to have the option.)
Craig Parkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2008, 09:01 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
Dual Boot the OS?
Richard Alvarez is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:07 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network