Avid / Pinnacle discussions from 2004 - Page 7 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Avid Editing Family
All flavors of Media Composer, Symphony and more.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 29th, 2004, 02:30 PM   #91
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
Try the folks at www.avid.com they're pretty good about fast replies.
Richard Alvarez is offline  
Old April 3rd, 2004, 05:44 AM   #92
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: LA LA Land
Posts: 12
DL this fix.

Follow the link.

http://support.avid.com/support/prodref.nsf/AdminProbSolByProduct/B9C2B5F9F560E18185256E45005DD188?OpenDocument
Jason R. Wood is offline  
Old April 17th, 2004, 06:18 PM   #93
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
Thinking in Avid when coming from Vegas?

Any advice on how to "think" in Avid when coming from Vegas?

Notes: I need to learn Avid for an upcoming project and I've only really used Vegas and Pinnacle Studio 7. Of course, I'm getting the Avid tutorial DVDs asap.
Michael Wisniewski is offline  
Old April 17th, 2004, 06:24 PM   #94
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 117
First at all....I am a Vegas user (and fan)

In my opinion AVID is very easy to handle.....Just Read the manual carefully and make son exercises. If you dedicate one or two full days to the AVID editor you will work with it without problems....No like an expert but enough for to make your job....
Federico Prieto is offline  
Old April 17th, 2004, 10:43 PM   #95
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
Download Avid FreeDv for free. Get a feel for the interface. Many more bells and whistels of course on the Pro version, but at least you can learn where the menus are, how the timeline works...
Richard Alvarez is offline  
Old May 11th, 2004, 04:30 PM   #96
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Glendale
Posts: 54
avid and dvstorm

Can avid and dvstorm live together in one computer.
Will AVid and the Dvstorm card plus software, the software that comes with it, (e.g. Adobe Premiere, etc..) installed in one computer probably cause havoc...

Does anyone have the same configuration where in both of them are installed. Coz I donot want to buy another computer for each of them.

Present system: Dual Xeon, SATA drives in RAID

thanks guys
Manuel Albarracin is offline  
Old May 18th, 2004, 11:36 PM   #97
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 173
Avid Mojo Digital Analog converters

We've been running some multiburst test on our Avid Mojo system. In these tests we found one serious flaw. The DAC is noisy and shows substantial high frequency loss. If we run the same signal out via firewire to our dsr1500 and use the sony DACs the signal integrity is substantially improved.

I'm wondering if other people have noticed the same or if perhaps we recieved a problem unit.

I would like to say otherwise the unit shows good bandwidth. The ADC side is fine and the codec internally seems to operate very well. (There is an anomoly where input signals, captured at dv25, are cropped at 100ire, but we haven't figured out exactly what's going on there.)
Martin Garrison is offline  
Old May 19th, 2004, 04:11 AM   #98
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I have no experience with that system, but for it being a
professional system I would not find that good enough. Perhaps
something is faulty with the hardware?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old May 28th, 2004, 04:08 AM   #99
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Upland, CA
Posts: 8
Camcorders Supported by Pinnacle's Liquid Edition

Hello all!

Just wanted to see what kind of camcorders people are using with Pinnacle Liquid Edition. I'm shopping around for a 3ccd and have narrowed it to either a GL2, AG-DVC80 or a VX2100.

I'd appreciate any input on anyone's experience with those 3 Camcorders and Liquid Edition

Thanks in advance!

Arnold
Arnold San Diego is offline  
Old May 28th, 2004, 10:06 AM   #100
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 1,241
I know folks using GL2s. I use a VX2100. I do not remember if the 80a does 24p, as LE does not support 24p.

Otherwise, any IEEE1394 camera that I have seen works with LE.
George Ellis is offline  
Old May 28th, 2004, 10:25 AM   #101
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Upland, CA
Posts: 8
Thanks for the input George! Now, if I can just settle on which camcorder to buy. :)

Arnold
Arnold San Diego is offline  
Old May 28th, 2004, 01:08 PM   #102
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 1,241
Pinnacle supports a product bulletin board. So if you have other questions, they can also help.

http://webboard.pinnaclesys.com/read...onID=115&lng=1
George Ellis is offline  
Old July 13th, 2004, 03:27 PM   #103
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Avid and HDV

I received an email from Avid claiming they're "ready" for everything from HDV to uncompressed HD.

http://www.avid.com/hd/index.asp?dm=DSHDHTMLQ304

I also thought this was interesting:

"Avid Xpress Pro
Native HDV and JVCPRO HD editing plus Avid DNxHD"


(Of course, Avid says it's not shipping yet...But JVCPRO HD??? Do they mean DVCPRO?)

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old July 14th, 2004, 04:20 PM   #104
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Hollywood, CA
Posts: 59
No, they mean HDV.
Avid really is excited by HDV. They think it's going to hit big in the way that DV did.
I attended their Experience Avid In Motion tour when it was here in LA and they showed some beautiful shots of autumn scenery on their HD projection system that had the audience buzzing when they revealed that it was HDV. It's their intention to support it natively beginning with Avid Xpress Pro in the next release coming by the end of the year.
Bob England is offline  
Old July 14th, 2004, 04:27 PM   #105
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Hollywood, CA
Posts: 59
Heath,

I just reread your quote "Avid Xpress Pro
Native HDV and JVCPRO HD editing plus Avid DNxHD"
and went to the Avid website. It must have been a typo, because everywhere I looked, it said Native HDV and DVCPRO HD.
They didn't get as much play in the press as Apple did, but at NAB Avid also announced support for DVCPRO HD.
Bob England is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:02 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network