Avid / Pinnacle discussions from 2004 - Page 9 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Avid Editing Family
All flavors of Media Composer, Symphony and more.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 13th, 2004, 10:54 AM   #121
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Avid Acquires M-Audio

Quote:
Avid Technology, Inc. (NASDAQ: AVID) today announced that it has entered into a definitive agreement to acquire Midiman, Inc., doing business as M-Audio a leading provider of digital audio and MIDI solutions for electronic musicians and audio professionals. At closing, Avid will pay approximately $80 million in cash, issue approximately 2 million shares of Avid common stock, and assume all outstanding M-Audio stock options.
Full press release.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline  
Old August 13th, 2004, 10:56 AM   #122
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
wow. Considering they already own degidesign and ProTools... that's quite a chunk.
Richard Alvarez is offline  
Old August 13th, 2004, 03:16 PM   #123
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Surprising acquisition...

Avid is acquiring M-Audio for $80M. M-Audio will run as an Avid division. M-Audio will not move from Irwindale. Digidesign will continue to distribute the Focusright products, interesting changes overall...
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old August 13th, 2004, 05:21 PM   #124
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Eatontown, NJ
Posts: 118
Nick,
You must have deleted the project media files (your original, captured source) from that project. The exclamation point means that LE doesn't can't find the media to playback. The red bars in the slices on your timeline mean that the clip hasn't been rendered; if you've deleted your original media, LE can't render it.
You may need to recapture your source.
Hope this helps.
Allen Brodsky is offline  
Old August 13th, 2004, 07:13 PM   #125
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 243
What? Is Avid trying to battle Cisco for the "Aquisition Title"


As long as Avid leave M-Audio alone it'll be cool. Let'em do there thing and add in PTLE support and you have a winner.

I sense some more aquisitions coming in that Audio or Video areas. Who's going to be next?
Harrison Murchison is offline  
Old August 13th, 2004, 07:36 PM   #126
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Cool, now I guess I have a pair of Avid speakers....
Boyd Ostroff is offline  
Old August 14th, 2004, 11:48 PM   #127
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Centreville Va
Posts: 1,828
All I can say is.... This is bad news for afforadble quality audio. Guess I better get those lx4s' before Avid quadruple the price.

true bummer.
Joe Carney is offline  
Old August 17th, 2004, 08:42 AM   #128
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 221
<<<-- Originally posted by Joe Carney : All I can say is.... This is bad news for afforadble quality audio. Guess I better get those lx4s' before Avid quadruple the price.

true bummer. -->>>

Or possibly switch to STaudio! Affordable solid korean gear with pro performance..
/m
__________________
Magnus Helander, Crossmediageek on G+
Magnus Helander is offline  
Old August 17th, 2004, 04:03 PM   #129
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: So Paulo - Brasil
Posts: 36
New Machine! PC -Liquid Edition pro

Hi everyone!
This is my first thread in this community, after extensive reading on a lot of threads. Ive found great stuff in here.
This is my question. I already bought the Liquid Edition 5.5 pro (the one that comes with the agp pinnacle card), and now im chosing the PC hardware.
-Motherboard P4 INTEL D875PBZLK (8USB+SERIAL ATA+LANPRO 1000)
-PROCESSOR PENTIUM 4 HT 2.800GHZ 512KB FSB800MHZ BOX
-3 HDD 40,0GB IDE 7200RPM ATA133 11Ms
-Samsung MEMORy DDR 1GB / FSB400 / PC-3200 (2x 512MB)
-DRIVE 1.44MB 3,5" MITSUMIDRIVE
-CD-ROM 52X OEM LG GCR-8523B
-Audio Board- SOUND MAKER VALUE 4.1
-Pionner DVD-R/RW (8X4X12X) E DVD+RW (8X4X12X)
-LG CDR-W (24X24X40X)
-OEM WINDOWS XP PRO

Any comments on this configuration that im getting!??
Thanx
Luis Ignacio is offline  
Old August 17th, 2004, 04:22 PM   #130
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 1,241
The only change I would consider is using 1 40GB drive (to load the OS on) and get bigger drives for the other two. Remember that 1 hour of tape is about 13GB. You need about 12GB free to render a full DVD disc also. If you save anything, 80GB will be gone very quickly.

My current project is around 100GB and I have 5 more tapes to log.

Pioneer has also released the 108 series DVD drives at $100 USD. That is 16x and supports DVD-ROM book Dual Layer at 4X/2.4X write.
George Ellis is offline  
Old August 17th, 2004, 05:54 PM   #131
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 857
I've got a question about that Pinnacle card. Does it import from DV tape and record in a Pinnacle proprietary codec? In other words could you import a DV tape via firewire, and send the resulting AVI over a network to a computer that did not have Pinnacle products installed on it and open that AVI with Adobe Premiere or Sony Vegas or Ulead VideoStudio? I've been told you cannot because Pinnacle uses their own codec.
__________________
Fear No Weevil!
Patrick King is offline  
Old August 17th, 2004, 08:52 PM   #132
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 1,241
I am not aware of the Pinnacle AVIs/DIFs being proprietary. I think they are standard DV25, but I am not entirely sure I remember correctly.
George Ellis is offline  
Old August 18th, 2004, 09:24 AM   #133
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: So Paulo - Brasil
Posts: 36
!

Thanx for the tips.
I have been told by pinnacle support that you can choose in wich codec you want to work (DV,DVCAM,DVC) and that the .avi uses a cinepack universal codec, i really got confused about this codec stuff, i will get this machine working than i tell you.
About ram memory, any thoughts?? kingstone(hyper-x or not), samsung.
Luis Ignacio is offline  
Old August 18th, 2004, 04:07 PM   #134
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
well i hope they keep updating drivers to my revolution 7.1 =). i luv this card.
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline  
Old August 29th, 2004, 09:38 PM   #135
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Houston, TX (Clear Lake area)
Posts: 42
Pinnacle Liquid Edition 5.5 -- How does it compare?

How does Pinnacle Liquid Edition 5.5 compare with the other PC-based high-end NLEs:
-- Avid
-- Vegas
-- Premier Pro

I am not considering any Mac NLEs because I already have a PC built for video editing. So please, no debates on Mac vs PC. There are plenty of other threads on that topic. :-)

I'm looking to buy a new NLE within the next few weeks. My initial use will be for wedding/event videography. However, that may change as I obtain more knowledge and experience.

I have been researching all four of these NLEs, and they all seem very capable. There are many posts in this forum recommending each of these.

From what I have been able to determine, Liquid Edition can do pretty much anything the other NLEs can do -- but I don't know this since I have not done an actual hands-on comparison.

However, it seems that Liquid Edition has the fewest number of users in this forum. Maybe that's because it's a new product, I don't know. From Pinnacle's Comparison Chart it offers a number of advantages over all the rest.

Liquid Edition is currently the least expensive, less than half the price of Avid. As a student, I can purchase any of these at highly discounted prices, so price is not a major issue with me.

I guess what I really want to know is what features or capability do the other NLEs offer that Liquid Edition does not?

Thank you for your time and feedback on this topic.
JM Underwood is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:51 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network