Exporting to the Web at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Avid Editing Family
All flavors of Media Composer, Symphony and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 5th, 2008, 09:55 AM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago, Illinios
Posts: 3
Exporting to the Web

Are there any specific export options that are best when uploading video to the web?

I am trying to find the options that give me the best quality when exporting from Avid. We are shooting SD and exporting SD, but we are getting pixelated and sometimes stuttered audio.

Any ideas?
Chris Wenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2008, 02:11 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,259
What settings have you tried using to export so far?

BTW, sometimes it's the player you're using to view the file, not the actual file Avid creates.
Peter Moretti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2008, 04:49 PM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago, Illinios
Posts: 3
Export Options

What we're really looking for is an interlacing fix in Avid Media composer. Our final output comes through Flash Video Encoder (we don't use Sorensen to encode to Flash because our version of Sorensen doesn't have the same flexibility in encoding to Flash that FVE has), so we first have to render out a high quality file that we can then run through FVE. However we are having a tough time getting a high quality file without interlacing. Our final video size is 448x252, so it is too large to just drop a field, which would be ideal if we were doing 360x240. We were encoding an uncompressed avi, and it was working perfectly, but any time we encode a video longer than two minutes or so, we get an error stating that the maximum file size for an avi has been reached.



We've since begun doing quicktime files using the compressed Meridien codec at 100% quality, but no matter what we choose in the codec options (2:1 progressive, etc) we are getting interlacing. On some projects we use Sony Vegas, and it works perfectly with the correct combination of clip and project properties, such as "disable resample" and "Reduce interlace flicker"in the clip properties, and "Interpolate" and "Full resolution rendering quality="best" in the project properties. However, we haven't seen anything resembling those clip or project properties in Avid.



Anyone have a de-interlacing fix in Avid for files meant for the web and larger than 360x240? Are there capture, project or clip properties that will help with this?
Chris Wenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2008, 08:35 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,259
You said "SD" but exactly what are both your source file format and your project format settings?
Peter Moretti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2008, 03:13 PM   #5
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago, Illinios
Posts: 3
When I posted this originally, our new project setting had a "format" of "30i NTSC".

Our "import" settings had a video resolution of DV25 411 MXF. Within those settings, in the "options" button, we had the "File field order" set to "Even (lower field first)" on the "Image" tab, and an aspect ratio of "601/709". Our "Color levels" were "RGB".

Since I posted this originally, I did a little experimentation and changed the field order on the import settings from "Even (lower field first)" to "Non-interlaced". We then did an export test with settings similar to those mentioned in my earlier post, except we changed the "resolution" within the Avid Meridian compressed codec to "2:1 single field". The interlacing problem seems to be fixed, and the file seems to be high quality.

However, my understanding of the import and export settings that I changed is that I dropped out half of the information from my original 720x480 60i video, and being that my export size (448x252) is larger than half the height and half the width of that original 720x480 source video, there should be a drop in quality since only a single field is used to fill that space.

Is my understanding correct, and is there a better way to take out the interlacing without dropping quality?
Chris Wenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2008, 10:34 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,259
Chris,

There may be a better way to do this in Avid than how you're doing it, but I'm not aware of one.

You may want to look at a program called TMPGEnc Xpress 4.0. It's around $100 and is excellent at changing formats, resolutions, compression, deinterlacing and more.

My understanding is that when you choose Single Field in Avid, it only uses the first field, so it's kind of brute force way to deinterlace, but probably not a bad one.
Peter Moretti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2008, 08:23 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,259
Chris,

You might want to try exporting as Windows Media and choosing "Progressive" for video type, and experimenting with 30 versus 60 for FPS.

HTH.
Peter Moretti is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:03 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network