Transcode FCS HDV to Avid File Format? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Avid Editing Family
All flavors of Media Composer, Symphony and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 13th, 2008, 11:23 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Triad Area, NC
Posts: 99
Transcode FCS HDV to Avid File Format?

Hey guys, got a problem I'm searching high and low to find the answer to. I did a local shoot for an ad company with a Sony V1u HDV in 108060i and the company they usually use for editing can't seem to get my footage in their system after I delivered the tapes and the imported Quicktime AIC movie files. I understand that the editing house uses Pano P2s and the pc Avid system w/ Adrenaline (though I don't know what that means) but they have no HDV deck. I'm currently using Final Cut Express on a Mac which outputs a Quicktime AIC file. The editing house doesn't have much interest in spending the time to sort this out so I'm hoping to find a method on my own. I'd like to just be able to deliver the captured footage on hard drive. Considering upgrading to Final Cut Studio especially if it will give me a codec that I can share with their Avid. Otherwise, I'm afraid this will be a sticking point for further work. Any ideas from you guys that speak Avid? Thanks, JLee
__________________
J.Lee Photography, LLC
http://www.jamesjlee.com
James J. Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2008, 02:26 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
You should find out what format the post house prefers to use, that will make it easier on you. Avid is supposed to be able to import HDV .m2t files at 60i and 30p. Inside the Apple Firewire SDK there is a program called DVHSCAP that will capture an .m2t file from your camcorder. Or you could download MPEG Streamclip and transcode your files into their preferred format.
__________________
"Ultimately, the most extraordinary thing, in a frame, is a human being." - Martin Scorsese
Michael Wisniewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2008, 08:35 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Triad Area, NC
Posts: 99
Thanks Michael, that's some good info. When I met with the editing company we were looking at what format I could provide from my export function instead of what formats they could use. It sounds like if I can get it in HDV/.m2t format, they should be able to work with it. I'll take a look at the suggested software.
__________________
J.Lee Photography, LLC
http://www.jamesjlee.com
James J. Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2008, 09:56 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 191
I'm not familiar with FCP, but is capturing and exporting each clip with Avid DNxHD codec an option?
Christian Magnussen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:31 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network