AMA for all codecs? at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Avid Editing Family
All flavors of Media Composer, Symphony and more.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 29th, 2009, 11:34 AM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mount Pleasant, MI
Posts: 177
AMA for all codecs?

Hi folks,

I see that AMA supports tapeless workflows. XDCAM, P2, EX, etc. This allows the software to access the files directly without transcoding to DNxHD.

Does this work for all file types? For example, does AMA work in the same way with footage that is encoded in a quicktime MJPEG codec? Or perhaps the apple animation codec?

Lastly, would someone need the DX hardware to do this? Or can this be done in software-only?
Devin Termini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2009, 09:33 PM   #2
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,259
AMA is not for all codecs, but more should be added. And AMA works with software only, additional hardware is not needed.
Peter Moretti is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:32 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network