Slideshow at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Avid Editing Family
All flavors of Media Composer, Symphony and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 5th, 2009, 03:04 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Crete Greece
Posts: 76
Slideshow

Ok, my next project is 4 min video from a collection of photos and home videos.
I want to cut it on MC but the avid pan & zoom effect produces serious image quality loss and I am also very uncomfortable with this workflow (I think it's very time consuming).

Is there a plugin or another way that will allow me to do it with less effort or should I go to the after effects instead.

Thanks.

e.g. Any help would be much appreciated since I have a 7day deadline!
__________________
Visit my work at www.atheaton.gr
George Pada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2009, 03:56 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,259
Boris Continuum Complete has a Pan and Zoom filter in the Distortion & Perspective folder.

Here's a tutorial on how to use it in FCP. It shouldn't much different in MC.

How to pan & zoom in Boris Continuum Complete for FCP - Video | Wonder How To


HTH.
__________________
Avid Media Composer 3.1.3. Boris Red and Continuum Complete. Vegas 8.0c. TMPGEnc Xpress Pro 4.0
Peter Moretti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2009, 04:51 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Crete Greece
Posts: 76
Thanks Peter.
Just checked it but I don't like this workflow. It's the same as avid's pan & zoom. I would like to just lay the photos in a timeline until I put them in the right order and then synchronize them to the music and as final step animate them and put transitions.

Last year I edited with premiere pro cs3 a 10min project which was only photos. Then I opened it in After effects did some minor adjustments and exported it in dv format. The result looked very good!

I think I'll go the same direction again...
__________________
Visit my work at www.atheaton.gr
George Pada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2009, 02:03 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Studio City CA
Posts: 45
Use Avid Pan and Zoom

Quote:
Originally Posted by George Pada View Post
Thanks Peter.
Just checked it but I don't like this workflow. It's the same as avid's pan & zoom. I would like to just lay the photos in a timeline until I put them in the right order and then synchronize them to the music and as final step animate them and put transitions.

Last year I edited with premiere pro cs3 a 10min project which was only photos. Then I opened it in After effects did some minor adjustments and exported it in dv format. The result looked very good!

I think I'll go the same direction again...
Hi George,

Actually, using Avid's Pan and Zoom effect is the best way to go if you want the best quality in your finished program. Avid P & Z doesn't use the photos directly in the timeline but "refers" to them from the timeline, thus keeping the quality that they were originally scanned. If you import photos into Avid you lose quality, and they won't stand up to a lot of panning and scanning because they will pixelate.

Check this out...

Using Pan and Zoom with Avid Xpress - Final Cut Studio, Avid, Adobe, and Video Streaming

Regards,
Jeff
Jeff Cerar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2009, 02:28 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Crete Greece
Posts: 76
Thank you Jeff.
I'll give it a try...
__________________
Visit my work at www.atheaton.gr
George Pada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 04:05 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Crete Greece
Posts: 76
Pan & zoom

Ok, I started this project and I decided to go with the whole avid pan & zoom workflow.
It seems that when I choose the avid HQ filtering all my quality issues dissapear and the photo becomes very clear!
But I'm searching for the feather edges effect now so if anyone has the answer it would be a great help!

Thanks for any reply!
__________________
Visit my work at www.atheaton.gr
George Pada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2009, 03:00 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: services world-wide
Posts: 118
Because Avid's DVE is 15 year old technology, you'll wanna use AE for the photos. You'll have much more control over em and you won't lose quality. You can also quickly cut out principals and properties of photos in photoshop and use them as seperate elements, scaling them a little differently or adding blur to the rest of the image, omiting the elements as a fine effect.
Grinner Hester is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:33 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network