Avid MC 4.0 Coming - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Avid Editing Family
All flavors of Media Composer, Symphony and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 30th, 2009, 01:01 PM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 789
Thanks for the link Bob.

I didn't realize that mix and match will also allow 50i and 60i in the same timeline. Then you can modify the timeline to be either or. You duplicate the sequence
and modify you can have one PAL and one NTSC timeline.

I plan on downloading the trial tonight, take my HM 100 and shoot 50 and 60i, 25p, 24p, 30p, and 60p and see what happens.

I now see why this is a version 4.0.

Cheers.
__________________
David Parks: DP/Editor: Jacobs Aerospace at NASA Johnson Space Center
https://www.youtube.com/user/JacobsESCG
David Parks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2009, 03:40 AM   #17
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaun Roemich View Post
Personally, I remember when you had to buy a fully configured system FROM AVID. In the mid tens of thousands of dollars TO START. There WAS no option to put a system together yourself. The only options you had were "how much storage?" and "what level of Media Composer do you want?"

AVID prides themselves on stability. That doesn't jive well with supporting "any and all" processors and motherboards.

Or perhaps I'm just old and crusty.
Shaun,

AMD and GeForce are not really the same as "any and all." I've never heard of Avid not running b/c of an AMD processor. But I've also never read of AMD being supported. And GeForce cards are used in qualified MacBook Pros, so why not qualify those same cards for PC's?
__________________
Avid Media Composer 3.1.3. Boris Red and Continuum Complete. Vegas 8.0c. TMPGEnc Xpress Pro 4.0
Peter Moretti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2009, 08:57 AM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posts: 292
I believe that Mac hardware and OS support the Geforce card in a different way than the PC.

There were issues of AMD processors creating conflicts with Avid, but it was a while ago. In fact I moved away from AMD because of those conflicts.

Maybe someone with more computer hardware technical knowledge has more insight.
Bob Willis is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:53 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network