Mojo at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Avid Editing Family
All flavors of Media Composer, Symphony and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 29th, 2009, 07:06 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pembroke Pines FL
Posts: 331
Mojo

Hi to all,

I am a sony vegas pro user that looking for a real time software alternative.
Media composer is one of my option but wanted to know what will be the min investment for the hardware, $$ wise.
I saw on line that they sale it with hardware that cost over $4000.00, but I was not sure if this is the only option I have.
__________________
www.nostalgicFrames.com
Dror Levi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2009, 11:38 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 444
Mojo is the cheapest hardware support from Avid.

I don't really know what you mean by a 'real time' alternative though - real time what?

Real time editing and playback of most normal intermediate formats can be done by pretty much any off the shelf computer.

Real time effects are completely dependent on the complexity of the effects.

Real time upressing/down scaling is generally a hardware function.

What exactly do you require that is 'REAL TIME'? Real time everything, including uncompressed or many simultaneous streams (e.g 10+ videos playing at once), in an HD world, means looking at a turn key solution in the Hundreds of Thousands of dollars plus range.
__________________
www.afterglow.co.nz
Craig Parkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2009, 10:11 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 44
Mojo should be fine for you. You can find an analog mojo on ebay for a couple of hundred dollars. Just make sure it has the I/O you need (the old ones came in Digital only or Analog- component [thru a goofy cable], y/c or composite). I have an analog mojo for one of my Avids and it works fine to get me to component outputs.
Mike Poglitsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2009, 11:36 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 1,585
You probably don't need the mojo hardware at all unless you have the need of analog inputs. Just go with the Media Composer software.

What is it that you are trying to achieve?
__________________
.
http://www.nosmallroles.com
Vito DeFilippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2009, 12:54 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 44
I agree with Vito... many days when editing alone I just use the computer monitor. The mojo adds I/O for decks & monitor, but if Im not feeding tape, I rarely even turn an ntsc monitor on. I do believe that they do help accelerate the rendering thru the GPU, but a dissolve takes less than a second to render, just thru cpu.....
Mike Poglitsch is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:50 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network