Media Composer not saving clips to bin at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Avid Editing Family
All flavors of Media Composer, Symphony and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 22nd, 2010, 03:41 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 6
Media Composer not saving clips to bin

Ive been trained on Avid but that was in 2002. Its been 8 years since I've used Avid and I've never used Media Composer so I'm a little rusty, hope someone can help.

I'm using a Canon HV30 to capture from. I have it plugged directly into my comp. The Avid recognizes the camera and will take control of it. I open the capture tool, set my V1 and A1, push the capture button, the camera starts to play, but the computer is not recording anything.

Is there something I'm missing??

Thanks
JIM
Jim Yates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 04:37 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
Did you select a bin to capture the clips to? Are you seeing the video in the composer monitor?
Richard Alvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2010, 01:47 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 44
Can you shuttle and control deck? In DECK PREFERENCES under SETTINGS you did select your camera/deck as the machine (or at least generic dv device). If you can shuttle, have v & a1/a2 tracks selected you should be able to capture. Did you specify a media drive?
Mike Poglitsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2010, 09:59 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 789
Jim,

Double check and make sure that you're in the right project settings for HDV/30.
1. Make sure you're in HDV raster size, 1440x1080
2. Make sure you're project is in 1080i.
3. Make sure you're format tab is not in 30i.

I think that might be your problem.

Hope this helps, David
__________________
David Parks: DP/Editor: Jacobs Aerospace at NASA Johnson Space Center
https://www.youtube.com/user/JacobsESCG
David Parks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2010, 10:24 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 1,585
Could be the camera, too. They have the ability to downconvert from HDV to DV on the fly. But if you have an HDV project, and downconvert on in the camera, Avid detects it as a DV cam and it doesn't work.
__________________
.
http://www.nosmallroles.com
Vito DeFilippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2010, 07:26 AM   #6
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 868
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Yates View Post
Ive been trained on Avid but that was in 2002. Its been 8 years since I've used Avid and I've never used Media Composer so I'm a little rusty, hope someone can help.

I'm using a Canon HV30 to capture from. I have it plugged directly into my comp. The Avid recognizes the camera and will take control of it. I open the capture tool, set my V1 and A1, push the capture button, the camera starts to play, but the computer is not recording anything.

Is there something I'm missing??

Thanks
JIM
Jim - one of the great things about Avid is the capture tool hasn't changed much in 8 years. Check the things the guys said but also if you have hardware IO connected make sre you have the correct video and audio input selected - in this case IEEE1394. Mind you the Avid will pump up an error message if you don't - failed to detect incoming video or audio signal.

Also remember you have to hit the red button when you start and stop recording to drop the clip automatically into a bin. The ed button should flash if it is working correctly.
John Mitchell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2010, 09:39 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 44
You did select video & audio tracks for capture, right?
Mike Poglitsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2010, 06:51 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece.
Posts: 179
I have the same camera and apart from some issues with capturing some times, it captures fine.
__________________
My Films My Works FB
George Angeludis is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:28 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network