Time code on DVD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Avid Editing Family
All flavors of Media Composer, Symphony and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 1st, 2010, 07:55 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Port Orange Fl
Posts: 317
Time code on DVD

I have a shoot Tuesday, and the client wants me to burn the raw footage to DVD with the time showing on the screen. I have MC5, how can I do that?



Dan
Forever Moments Video Productions
Dan Asseff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2010, 02:02 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 562
Dan: It largely depends on the footage: how much and what format.

Let's say you are file based. Bring in the clips, stack them into a sequence in order, then pick the TC generator out of your effects palette. (it will be easier if you do a video mixdown first, and just get one long sequence clip). Drop the effect on the time line, and select source video for the TC display, not sequence time.

Export the clip and do a fast burn to DVD. It's clunky, but it can work. Of course, you could also take the sequence, export it as something like a smaller Mpeg4, and post it online with the window burn. Probably less hassle than burning and shipping a DVD.
Bill Ward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2010, 08:45 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Port Orange Fl
Posts: 317
Bill,

Thank you for responding. I will give it a try Tuesday and let you know how it worked out. I have the NX5
so it should work like you said.


Dan
Forever Moments Video Productions
Dan Asseff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2010, 07:28 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Port Orange Fl
Posts: 317
Bill, what format should I save the the sequence to? I tried to save it to a AVI file and it wouldn't do the full sequence, the two gig file limit I guess.

Dan
Forever Moments Video Productions
Dan Asseff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2011, 11:45 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 44
Re: Time code on DVD

Another way is to take Composite & audio out of your Mojo or Adrenaline card then run it to your stand alone dvd burner (less than $100). Hit record on the burner, & spacebar on your Media Composer and you're rockin.

First you need to render the timecode effect over your footage (as previously mentioned)- this can take a good amount of time, then I would spend hours converting clips to combine several hours of footage onto one dvd. Then you need to make a menu, then author...what a time waster!

With a dvd burner you can set the unit for 1, 2, 4 or 6 hour mode. When you hit "stop" on the recorder it makes a menu clip icon so the viewer can choose what movie they want to watch. Then you can burn more clips is you wish. If you use this method you wont need to convert, make menu's, etc. Also you can compress the hell out of your footage (6 hour mode) to give them one disk which is normally good enough for a producer to log footage.

Last edited by Mike Poglitsch; February 27th, 2011 at 11:48 AM. Reason: clarify
Mike Poglitsch is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:00 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network