Need help media composer 7 to pro tools at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Avid Editing Family
All flavors of Media Composer, Symphony and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 10th, 2013, 12:57 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Forest Ranch, CA
Posts: 106
Need help media composer 7 to pro tools

Hi guys, I'm editing in MC7 and I want to export a project for someone to edit all audio in pro tools on a different machine in a different town. I have MC7 and not pro tools and he has the opposite (pro tools and not MC7. How do I give him a folder or file with everything he needs to open it up and begin editing audio with reference video? I don't want to render out a movie because I want him to have access to the individual tracks and audio clips.
Joe Batt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2013, 10:50 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand
Posts: 745
Re: Need help media composer 7 to pro tools

It's been a few years since I did this, and it was on MC 5.0 so it might be different... but if memory serves you just go File > Send To > Pro Tools

I believe this method creates a low res movie so the audio guy has something to reference, then it dumps all of the audio tracks and data in a folder.

Again, it may have changed, and it's been a while so don't take my word for it :)
Jody Arnott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2013, 12:23 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Forest Ranch, CA
Posts: 106
Re: Need help media composer 7 to pro tools

Thanks Jody, I tried that and it gave me an error. Something about not being able to create a file. I was thinking the error was caused by me not having Protools on my machine. Thanks!
Joe Batt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2013, 12:55 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Efland NC, USA
Posts: 2,315
Re: Need help media composer 7 to pro tools

Are you using AMA media?
__________________
http://www.LandYachtMedia.com
Chris Medico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2013, 05:06 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Forest Ranch, CA
Posts: 106
Re: Need help media composer 7 to pro tools

Chris, no, I imported all the media.
Joe Batt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2013, 07:51 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Efland NC, USA
Posts: 2,315
Re: Need help media composer 7 to pro tools

Can you put up some screen shots so we can see the selections and the error you are getting?
__________________
http://www.LandYachtMedia.com
Chris Medico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2013, 11:52 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Forest Ranch, CA
Posts: 106
Re: Need help media composer 7 to pro tools

Chris, Here are some screen shots of the error I'm getting. One shot of the bin. One shot of the first error message, then one of the second error message.
Attached Thumbnails
Need help media composer 7 to pro tools-bin.png   Need help media composer 7 to pro tools-firsterror.png  

Attached Images
 
Joe Batt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2013, 09:06 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Efland NC, USA
Posts: 2,315
Re: Need help media composer 7 to pro tools

Sorry for the delay in my reply.

That seems to be a very odd error. Can you please post one more set of screens showing your export options for the AAF?
__________________
http://www.LandYachtMedia.com
Chris Medico is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network