XAVC S footage into Avid at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Avid Editing Family
All flavors of Media Composer, Symphony and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 25th, 2016, 04:44 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dawlish UK
Posts: 160
XAVC S footage into Avid

Has anyone managed to import/transcode XAVC S footage from a Sony AX53 into Avid v8.6. I have tried Sony's PDZK-MA2 to link via AMA. File format not supported or unknown.
Mark Hartopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2016, 10:22 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 106
Re: XAVC S footage into Avid

I don't think XAVC-S is supported in Avid. It does support XAVC-L & I, I believe.
You would need to transcode it to something else before importing.
Sony's Catalyst Browse will do this and it offers a variety of Sony codecs, as well as Pro Res, etc.
Plus, it's free which always helps.
Kevin Langdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2016, 01:34 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dawlish UK
Posts: 160
Re: XAVC S footage into Avid

I've done some tests with prores and it works results are good. The down side is the increase in file size and transcode time.

I've gone with Blackmagic Resolve - free version. Imports XAVC S fine.

20 years of using Avid and I really like Resolve. I feel I'm ending a relationship.

Thanks for your help.
Mark Hartopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2016, 01:57 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dawlish UK
Posts: 160
Re: XAVC S footage into Avid

Testing Sony's Catalyst Browse now. My test involved a cheap 3rd party video converter. Thanks again.
Mark Hartopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2016, 02:56 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 106
Re: XAVC S footage into Avid

No problem.
Really not sure why Avid hasn't ensured XAVC-S is also compatible. I think it may be viewed by Avid as not a 'Pro' codec like L & I. I know on its forums people have been asking for it.
But, when you're competitors like FCP X, Resolve and Premiere (I think) can all handle XAVC-S with ease, then I think it's a mistake on Avid's part.
Kevin Langdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2016, 03:22 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,249
Re: XAVC S footage into Avid

Avid, I have given up on Avid and let my subscription go and moved onto Premier Pro, very happy.

Now, XAVC-S is not supported in Avid and it's a real pain as many programs are using this format, the best an cheapest way is to use Edit Ready, just rewrap and then AMA into Avid. I have been using Edit Ready for the past few years with great success.
Simon Denny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2016, 12:10 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dawlish UK
Posts: 160
Re: XAVC S footage into Avid

Thanks for the heads up on edit ready. Will give it a test drive at the weekend.
Mark Hartopp is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

EVS
(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:10 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network