Avid Xpress Pro HD - 24p ANY NEWS? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Avid Editing Family
All flavors of Media Composer, Symphony and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 9th, 2006, 07:27 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 50
Avid Xpress Pro HD - 24p ANY NEWS?

Anybody know when Xpress is going to support 24p-23.976p yet? I originally heard that 5.2.2 would take care of this,.....but can't find the info.

If not,........what's the best 3rd party solution for this,......Lumiere HD etc.?

thanks,...
Ian Mora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2006, 10:18 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
Like Apple, Avid has been horrible in support for 24P from the JVC and Canon.

Here is the best workaround currently (and free):

- Download DVHSCap and MPEG STREAMCLIP.
- Use DVHSCap (or a firestore) and capture the .m2t file.
- Open the file in MPEG STREAMCLIP.
- Select Avid Codec DNxHD.
- Bring the Quality Slider to Best.
- Deselest the De-interlace check boxes.
- In the Frame Rate Box, enter 23.976.
- Next to DNxHD, you need to go into the options and select which quality and frame size you want to edit in (Either 1080 or 720, and one of the qualities).

In Avid, create whatever project type is correct with your frame size. Avid will quickly import the files, but it will also Copy them and transcode to MXF...it does this quickly because of the DNxHD. You can delete the original files after importing.

This seems like a long workaround but it is rather quick. The only time consuming thing is the conversion. You can also Batch Convert in MPEG STREAMCLIP.
Steve Benner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2006, 01:56 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 50
Right On,...

Thanks so much for the tips,.....this should help
Ian Mora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2006, 09:38 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 11
loss of data

Is there a significant loss of data with this method?

I also have aspect HD but prefer avid to premeire pro. Could I capture with aspect to m2t files and then convert them to avid DNxHD files using mpeg streamclip?

Is there another program(not necessarily free) that I could use to convert that would be better quality...canopus procoder, for instance?
__________________
"It's not the time it takes to take the takes, it's the time it takes BETWEEN the takes, that takes the time to take the takes."
Kevin Haberer is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:33 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network