recording hd100 720/24p to tape in Liquid at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Avid Editing Family
All flavors of Media Composer, Symphony and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 17th, 2006, 09:06 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 136
recording hd100 720/24p to tape in Liquid

I've been trying to dump a 720/24p uncompressed timeline onto the HD100 with Avid Liquid, but keep getting the error: "The Timeline Format can't be recorded with the selected recorder".

The camera mode is in HDV 24p (and the dv/hdv switch is on hdv). In Liquid the recorder is the JVC Device, and works perfectly when logging/capturing 24p. Shouldn't I be able to dump the timeline back to tape?
Nima Taheri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2006, 07:57 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 136
bump... any liquid users? I'm at a dead end here... anything appreciated
Nima Taheri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2006, 08:12 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
I am not a Liquid User, but if you are editing Uncompressed, then it is not in HDV and the JVC HD100 encodes HDV-1 tracks to tape. That may be your problem.
Steve Benner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2006, 05:37 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 343
Yes - you have to encode to HDV1 first and then export to tape. It won't be pretty!
Antony Michael Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2006, 07:09 AM   #5
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Moved here from JVC ProHD forum.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2006, 08:19 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,214
Yes, you can dump right back to tape without an issue. The key is to setup your "player" setting in the control panel to dump ProHD instead of the default MicroMV for Mpeg streams. If you've seen my tutorial on dumping back to tape then you should have no problem at all Nima.

S.Noe
Stephen L. Noe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2006, 11:00 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 136
Stephen:

Thank you for the tip. I changed the mpg streams to ProHD, still didn't work. But in the camera, I changed the video format to 30/60 instead of 24 before starting the export, and the export process started. I cancelled it, caus I have to render the whole thing first right now (which takes about 2 hours). Is the camera recording the timeline in 24p even if it's in 30/60 mode? I thought maybe it will, since the streams in&out are actually 60...

also, in the video output setup, what are the correct settings?
1. DV Output Format (DV/DVCPRO)
2. MPEG Output Format (ProHD/25 and ProHD/30)

the footage is 720/24p exported uncompressed to the HD101 for either NTSC or PAL broadcast.
Nima Taheri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2006, 03:28 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nima Taheri
Stephen:

Thank you for the tip. I changed the mpg streams to ProHD, still didn't work. But in the camera, I changed the video format to 30/60 instead of 24 before starting the export, and the export process started. I cancelled it, caus I have to render the whole thing first right now (which takes about 2 hours). Is the camera recording the timeline in 24p even if it's in 30/60 mode? I thought maybe it will, since the streams in&out are actually 60...

also, in the video output setup, what are the correct settings?
1. DV Output Format (DV/DVCPRO)
2. MPEG Output Format (ProHD/25 and ProHD/30)

the footage is 720/24p exported uncompressed to the HD101 for either NTSC or PAL broadcast.
Remember that the 24p is buried in the 60p stream with place holders. Your camera display will show 24p as well as the deck display. This is correct. Set your ouput in Liquid to ProHD 30 and you'll be all set. Piece of cake...
Stephen L. Noe is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:06 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network