Xpress Pro 5.5.3 seems to work on MBP 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Avid Editing Family
All flavors of Media Composer, Symphony and more.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 5th, 2006, 09:23 PM   #1
HDV Cinema
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,003
Xpress Pro 5.5.3 seems to work on MBP 2

After getting a MBP dual core 2 I tried Free DV. Worked except video would not play.

Then I read that Xpress Pro wouldn't work with ATI -- no video play. And, that Xpress Pro would not work with Core 2.

Nevertheless, I loaded my old 5.5.3, and other than an Exception error when it starts (which I ignore) it seems to work fine -- so far.

1) 5.5.3 seems to have everything DV and HDV -- except 24p -- that I need. What's the major gain in going to 5.6.x?

2) Anyone have an idea why the old version seems to run , but not the newer versions?

3) Do you think both cores are being used?

4) Are there free update patches to 5.5.3? I really don't want to spend money now while I wait for the next real UPGRADE?

5) And, if there are free UPDATES, how far can one go before ATI graphics are not supported?

Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2006, 10:19 PM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 789
Steve, My 2 cents...

I stopped at 5.2.3. My past experience with Avid, going all the way back to the old Media Composer AVR 26, in 1993, is that version main number say for example 5 (v.5) and .5 (v. 5.5) releases are buggy. It seems like version 5.2's or 5.6.7's are the releases with all of the bug fixes. So, 5.6 might work better for you. Also, last year I had 5.1.5 and it worked with an ATI card although it was very slow/sluggish, window sticking etc. I switched to a 256mb Nvidia card about a month ago and Xpress Pro runs much better. Clean, playback is smooth, and windows don't stick when you try to move them.

I hate to say it but you might need to change your graphics card to Nvidia for long term compatibility.

As for me, I'll stick with what works and won't upgrade until version 6.2.5 or something and only then if they successfully implement 720/24p HDV, better JVC HD 100 support and direct to DVD output.
David Parks: DP/Editor: Jacobs Aerospace at NASA Johnson Space Center
David Parks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2006, 12:39 PM   #3
Inner Circle
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
Avid is not currently supported on Intel Macs, only PowerPC macs. It will run, but on an Intel Mac using Apples rosetta emulation to make it work, which is why it won't play video. A universal binary release should come some time in the new year.
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:57 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network