Playback stuters with unknown QT codec after import! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Avid Editing Family
All flavors of Media Composer, Symphony and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 3rd, 2007, 04:16 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Garden Grove, CA
Posts: 70
Playback stuters with unknown QT codec after import!

Hi everyone,

I just got a self-contained QT file from my boss and I'm unsure about what to do. I have a few questions and problems:


1. We're not sure what the codec was used for this file. Is there way to find out either it's DV or DV50 or HD so we can set the project type accordingly when creating a new project with Avid?


2. I imported this file into AE 7 and here's what I got when I highlighted the clip:

720x486 (0.90)

29.97 fps

Millions of Colors

YUV422 codec

48.000 kHz / 16 bit / Stereo


What project type should I set when I create a new project with Avid to import this file? Should I import the file as DV50 or 1:1?


3. When I tried to import this file into a 30i project type with OMF 411, the playback get stutered inside Avid. Here's the tricky part! It only stuters when I have Mojo component output selected. When I disable Mojo component output (by clicking on the DNA button on the top right of the timeline) and use firewire output from Mojo only, the same clip doesn't get stuter on playback. The stuter is random and I tried the exact same clip and it gives the smooth playback when I diabled Mojo component output. Any ideas? This is scary because I don't want to start a project (this is a long project) and in the end realize that I can't get smooth output.


P.S: Aside from the above information, this QT file is 80 gig for about 1 hour and 15 minutes. This is way bigger than a normal DV QT. Also, I'm using Avid 5.6.2 with Mojo SDI.


I really need help with this. Please advise. Thank you so much!
Tony Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2007, 12:56 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
The YUV 422 codec is an uncompressed codec, which why your file is so big, and it will be stretching your system, especially you hard drive/raid array. Switch in the mojo and as well as handling a massive file with very high data rate you are also asking the system to do an on the fly conversion. Unless you have a really good PC with a raid array I doubt very much you will be able to get stutter free output to your mojo.

The choice of project will depend on what your final output is going to be.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2007, 03:26 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Garden Grove, CA
Posts: 70
Thanks, Alister!
Tony Pham is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Avid Editing Family

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:05 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network