SSD recording with Blackmagic hyperdeck at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > BlackMagic Design HyperDeck Shuttle


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 4th, 2011, 02:54 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chislehurst, London
Posts: 1,724
SSD recording with Blackmagic hyperdeck

Has anyone seen this or has any opinion. On the face of it, at $345 it would seem like an ideal bit of kit to have.

Blackmagic Design: HyperDeck Shuttle
__________________
Eyes are a deaf manís ears. Ears are a blind manís eyes
Vincent Oliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2011, 03:17 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: KLD, South Africa
Posts: 983
Re: SSD recording with Blackmagic hyperdeck

It's cheap until you start looking at the cost of SSD drives and the absolutely absurd amount of data consumed by uncompressed video! Why can't someone design a Cineform recorder?

The storage and data rates for uncompressed video are listed below:

525 NTSC uncompressed

8 bit @ 720 x 486 @ 29.97fps = 20 MB per/sec, or 70 GB per/hr.
10 bit @ 720 x 486 @ 29.97fps = 27 MB per/sec, or 94 GB per/hr.

625 PAL uncompressed

8 bit @ 720 x 576 @ 25fps = 20 MB per/sec, or 70 GB per/hr.
10 bit @ 720 x 576 @ 25fps = 26 MB per/sec, or 93 GB per/hr.

720p HDTV uncompressed

8 bit @ 1280 x 720 @ 59.94field = 105 MB per/sec, or 370 GB per/hr.
10 bit @ 1280 x 720 @ 59.94field = 140 MB per/sec, or 494 GB per/hr.

1080i and 1080p HDTV uncompressed

8 bit @ 1920 x 1080 @ 24fps = 95 MB per/sec, or 334 GB per/hr.
10 bit @ 1920 x 1080 @ 24fps = 127 MB per/sec, or 445 GB per/hr.

8 bit @ 1920 x 1080 @ 25fps = 99 MB per/sec, or 348 GB per/hr.
10 bit @ 1920 x 1080 @ 25fps = 132 MB per/sec, or 463 GB per/hr.

8 bit @ 1920 x 1080 @ 29.97fps = 119 MB per/sec, or 417 GB per/hr.
10 bit @ 1920 x 1080 @ 29.97fps = 158 MB per/sec, or 556 GB per/hr.

1080i and 1080p HDTV RGB (4:4:4) uncompressed

10 bit @ 1280 x 720p @ 60fps = 211 MB per/sec, or 742 GB per/hr.
10 bit @ 1920 x 1080 @ 24fps = 190 MB per/sec, or 667 GB per/hr.
10 bit @ 1920 x 1080 @ 50i = 198 MB per/sec, or 695 GB per/hr.
10 bit @ 1920 x 1080 @ 60i = 237 MB per/sec, or 834 GB per/hr.

Uncompressed video - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Nicholas de Kock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2011, 03:39 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
Re: SSD recording with Blackmagic hyperdeck

The recorded video will eat through SSD's very quickly, but SSD's are the lowest cost per Gb solid state storage available today. Even given the high cost of SSD's and the large amount of data being recorded, if you compare it to ProResHQ on high end compact flash then the cost per minute is not all that different.

Long term storage of so much data is going to be an issue. A typical workflow might involve shooting uncompressed and then converting to the codec of your choice on ingest to the edit platform. The import/transcode process should be just about as fast as a straight import as the bottle neck will be the amount of data rather than the processing on an up to date computer. As the recording is uncompressed and you choose your codec on ingest, it is almost like having a camera that can record to the codec of your choice.

The main issue I do see with the Shuttle is the lack of monitoring of any description, so it's all to easy to forget to turn off the character output on the camera and end up with rushes with all your camera data burnt in to the image.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2011, 04:40 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 39
Re: SSD recording with Blackmagic hyperdeck

I just don't see where this fits in.

The Hyperdeck might have some applications for high end effects work where uncompressed is desirable but these guys are not short of cash and will use something with monitoring. Shooting uncompressed for most applications is more trouble than it's worth.

A device that recorded to Prores with some monitoring for under $1,000 like the Atmos Ninja makes a lot more sense. I would imagine devices like this for around $500 are not that far away.
__________________
Andy Taplin
www.andytaplin.co.uk
Andy Taplin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2011, 06:02 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chislehurst, London
Posts: 1,724
Re: SSD recording with Blackmagic hyperdeck

On the face of it the BlackMagic drive did seem like a good option, but looking at the specs for uncompressed video, it may seem like an overkill.

Now if BlackMagic could make this device so it also recorded 35mbs files straight from the EX camera, then it may be an interesting option.
__________________
Eyes are a deaf manís ears. Ears are a blind manís eyes
Vincent Oliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2011, 06:02 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 693
Re: SSD recording with Blackmagic hyperdeck

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Taplin View Post
I just don't see where this fits in.
Really? I can see a fit. OK not so much for the EX1 but I can see a fit.

My view is that you'd record your footage to it and then transcode to Prores back at base. It wouldn't be an everyday tool but would be great for chromakey work.

As its SDI and HDMI it will work with the EX1 and smaller cameas. All my small AVCHD cameras have HDMI. I could bypass that horrific to handle codec and use one of these boxes. Then transcode it all to a format of my choice.

I'm giving this serious consideration. It wouldn't be an everyday tool but it would be a boon for my AVCHD units and the ability to use it for Chromakey work on the EX1 is just a bonus.
__________________
Marcus Durham
Media2u, Corporate Video Production For Your Business - http://www.media2u.co.uk
Marcus Durham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2011, 12:53 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Maassluis, The Netherlands
Posts: 294
Re: SSD recording with Blackmagic hyperdeck

lol, somehow manufacturers tend to forget to add dimensions and weight to new products.
Especially, when things are said to be portable, I'm curious about dimensions and weight.
And with internal batteries I need to know how long they last. (I guess, more people would like to know.)
__________________
Brainstormnavigator searching for the hole in the sky.....
Audiovisual Designer (NL) - http://www.brokxmedia.nl
Walter Brokx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2011, 05:34 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 234
Re: SSD recording with Blackmagic hyperdeck

Walter,

Somewhere on the Hyperdeck site it says that the battery lasts about an hour. I don't know if that's an hour of recording or a mix of standby/record but there it is. It'll definitely need an extra battery.
Adam Reuter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2012, 12:50 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: York, England
Posts: 1,323
Re: SSD recording with Blackmagic hyperdeck

Given that the difference in quality is fairly negligible, the reasons for me using one of these guys would be:

1) ProRes files

2) Extended recording times over (say) the Nikon D800's 20 min max.

Since I film events, having something that can shoot unattended for 60-90 mins is highly desirable. If the Hyperdeck only supports uncompressed then this kinda rules it out, whereas the Ninja seems to offer all the variations, so I would assume that ProRes 422 LT (for example) would get a lot more recording time in he same space.

Would I be correct in thinking the Ninja can do this?
__________________
Qualified UAV Pilot with CAA PFAW
Aerial Photo / Aerial Video | Corporate Video Production
Dave Partington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2012, 03:04 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Voorheesville, NY
Posts: 433
Re: SSD recording with Blackmagic hyperdeck

The original Hyperdeck Shuttle only supported uncompressed. The Shuttle 2 supports uncompressed and DNxHD in either MXF or MOV containers.
Jay Bloomfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2012, 02:22 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Atlanta, USA
Posts: 53
Re: SSD recording with Blackmagic hyperdeck

I am currently testing my new BM w/ OcZ 240gbs ssd. The BM interup recording at haft of the space in my hard drive (144Gbs. ) does any body have the same problem?

Thanks
Kent Nguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2012, 05:53 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Voorheesville, NY
Posts: 433
Re: SSD recording with Blackmagic hyperdeck

Could your clarify a few things? Is this a Shuttle or a Shuttle 2? Which OCZ SSD model is it? Did you try to record one large file? What BMD software/firmware version were you using? What format were you using to record? How did you format the SSD, on a Mac or a PC?

I've never tried to record a file that was larger than about 50 GB.
Jay Bloomfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2012, 11:28 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Atlanta, USA
Posts: 53
Re: SSD recording with Blackmagic hyperdeck

Thanks for asking Jay. It's the Shuttle 2. OCZ 240Gbs vertex3. Recording SD MOV wrap via SDI. Firrmware used comes with the package, not sure the version. I format the SSD with Mac. I do recording events so I have to know the capability of the device.
Kent Nguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2012, 08:46 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Voorheesville, NY
Posts: 433
Re: SSD recording with Blackmagic hyperdeck

I don't see anything unusual with your setup. there have been a few reports of dropped frames with that model SSD and the Shuttle 2, but it seems to be one of the most commonly used SSDs with the recorder, so a problem like that should have shown up before. The only thing that I can suggest is downloading the 3.01 version of the Shuttle software/firmware and see if that helps. if not, file a support ticket with BMD. They are pretty good about tracking down these problems.

Does this problem occur with all three formats (DNxHD MXF, uncompressed MOV and DNxHD MOV)? How big a file can you record before the problem occurs?
Jay Bloomfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2012, 07:44 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Atlanta, USA
Posts: 53
Re: SSD recording with Blackmagic hyperdeck

Just wonder why compressed videos take too much space with BMD? This completely limits the use of the unit
Kent Nguyen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > BlackMagic Design HyperDeck Shuttle

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:59 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network