Hyperdeck Shuttle 2 with DNxHD or ProRes at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > BlackMagic Design HyperDeck Shuttle


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 2nd, 2014, 11:11 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 758
Hyperdeck Shuttle 2 with DNxHD or ProRes

My interest is NOT shooting uncompressed. I'm not prepared to deal with that much data. Multiple cameras and 2+ hours...no way for me.

That being the case, if you are using strictly DNxHD or ProRes, is it still necessary to use SSD with the Hyperdeck Shuttle 2? Or can a normal hard drive be used instead?

Thank you for your time.
Bill Koehler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2014, 12:54 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Prunedale California
Posts: 108
Re: Hyperdeck Shuttle 2 with DNxHD or ProRes

Unless I missed an update,
The Shuttle II requires a fast SSD and
only records uncompressed and 220 Mbps

The Ninja II can use hard drives and record down to DNxHD 36

Neither will record 1080 P60 or 4k
You will need a Atomos Shogun, Convergent Design Odyssey recorder or huge BM studio deck for that.
Roger Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2014, 10:08 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pacifica, CA USA
Posts: 32
Re: Hyperdeck Shuttle 2 with DNxHD or ProRes

The HyperDeck Shuttle 2 records QuickTime/ProRes422HQ at approx. 106 GB/hour.
Blackmagic Design: HyperDeck Shuttle Tech Specs
Eric Mayrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2014, 10:52 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Prunedale California
Posts: 108
Re: Hyperdeck Shuttle 2 with DNxHD or ProRes

Where do you see HQ?
So far the best I've been able to record in is HD 1080 i60 which not much if better than P30 quality.
It might be useful for recording or playing on BlueRay

For recording any action 1080 P60 is much better.
Let me know when the Shuttle II supports that and I will start using my D5300 for Video again.
Roger Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2014, 12:15 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Re: Hyperdeck Shuttle 2 with DNxHD or ProRes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Martin View Post
Where do you see HQ?
The HyperDecks (and frankly ALL BMD products) use ProResHQ only. No LT, no "regular"... just HQ at (nominal) 220mbps for HD material.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2014, 11:56 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Prunedale California
Posts: 108
Re: Hyperdeck Shuttle 2 with DNxHD or ProRes

Not ProRes only, but also uncompresed and DNxHD 220
I would not only like to see more comprssion in an unlimited by Camera time but also 1080 P60
Roger Martin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > BlackMagic Design HyperDeck Shuttle

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:29 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network