Issues with Blu-ray Menus Created with Encore CS3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > Blu-Ray Authoring


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 6th, 2009, 01:45 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 5
Issues with Blu-ray Menus Created with Encore CS3

For some reason all of my menus on my Blu-ray disks (Verbatim, Sony, and Panasonic BD-R media) that I have created with Encore CS3 display incorrectly on my TV. A bit of background: I am using sd menu templates from Encore, burn with an LG writer, and playback on a LG Blu-ray player. I have even tried a Samsung player as well. The problem is that the selection highlights on the menus are misplaced. The button highlights will instead be over the text instead of next to it. They are not where they should be. However, when I took the different disks over to my in-laws and played them on their Samsung player and Samsung 720p LCD they display correctly. Any ideas? Thanks!
Robert Tomfohr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2009, 04:54 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 5
Anybody have any ideas?
Robert Tomfohr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2009, 06:04 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 747
You need to do everything in HD, make sure when you open your project, set it to Blu-ray, use Blu-ray template because the size are larger than SD template, this is where I think your problem is.
__________________
Khoi Pham
www.proeditproductions.com
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2009, 06:07 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
Khio's right. Although I don't know all that's going on "under the covers" in the world of BD, resolution is king. I'm not surprised that using SD source material for menus causes issues in HD.

Start HD and stay HD through the workflow and you should be fine. You might want to take the menus into Photoshop and converting them to 1920x1080.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2009, 03:38 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 5
Yep, it's definitely an issue with using a SD menu. I threw together an HD one and it worked perfect. Thanks for the input guys. However, I've got another problem with creating an a menu with the inverse trick (layer over a picture that disappears when highlighted).
Robert Tomfohr is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > Blu-Ray Authoring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:47 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network