C100 dual slot recording, anyone have issues? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems

Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems
For all Canon Cinema EOS models: C700 / C300 Mk. II / C200 / C100 Mk II and EF / PL lenses.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 12th, 2012, 11:27 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NJ/NYC
Posts: 560
C100 dual slot recording, anyone have issues?

been trying out the dual slot recording, and seem to have issues. after several minutes 1 card will drop out, but the other will keep going. tried to narrow it down to a card issue, but can't decifer any consistent conclusion. i think it might be occurring at the 12 minute marker where it creates a new file, and maybe that's where it hiccups. could be a firmware issue. anyone got a c100/300 with two cards to try this out with? if you make it to 15 minutes then must be on my end.
__________________
C100 - GH4 - NYC Shooter
www.DarrenLevine.com
Darren Levine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2012, 11:32 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 49
re: C100 dual slot recording, anyone have issues?

I've yet to try the dual cards but I can try it out later tonight when I get home. If I remember correctly there is a setting in the menu that you have to change in order to record to both cards simultaneously.

Also, what speed/class cards are you using?
__________________
www.nickelsvision.com
Canon C100, Canon 5D MK iii, Canon 5D MK ii (Magic Lantern), Panasonic GF1 (Hacked)
Peter Chaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2012, 11:33 AM   #3
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
re: C100 dual slot recording, anyone have issues?

Please name the cards you're using Darren -- specifics, please!

Memory card choice makes a *big* difference...
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2012, 11:35 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NJ/NYC
Posts: 560
re: C100 dual slot recording, anyone have issues?

righty right...

SanDisk Ultra 32 GB microSDHC Class 10 UHS-1 Memory Card 30MB/s with Adapter SDSDQUA-032G-U46A

they have a minimum write speed of 10mbytes/sec, plenty of overhead for 24mbit/sec

i''ve yet to have a single issue recording to one card for any length of time, just the two cards at once, and i Think at that new file marker
__________________
C100 - GH4 - NYC Shooter
www.DarrenLevine.com
Darren Levine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2012, 11:51 AM   #5
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
re: C100 dual slot recording, anyone have issues?

Which camera are you using, Darren? C300 or C100?

I suppose I should implement thread prefixes in this forum so that the camera model can be designated in the thread title... I see you list the C100 in your sig, but it would be a mistake to assume that's what you're using this particular time (for example, it could be a client's camera or a rental). I would avoid microSD, if I were you... it's really best to use proper full-size SDHC or SDXC cards. Canon USA recommends certain cards, I'll see if I can dig up that list.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2012, 11:53 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NJ/NYC
Posts: 560
re: C100 dual slot recording, anyone have issues?

C100, and while i'd have to agree with you on using regular SD cards, it still might be a firmware issue with dual slot recording, seeing as i've not had any issues recording to these cards in single slot mode.

i just dug up 2 regular sd cards which i'll try out as well
__________________
C100 - GH4 - NYC Shooter
www.DarrenLevine.com
Darren Levine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2012, 11:55 AM   #7
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Re: C100 dual slot recording, anyone have issues?

Thread title edited to add "C100"
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2012, 12:08 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 49
Re: C100 dual slot recording, anyone have issues?

A little bit off topic but Darren thanks for the video on the $7 Hard Drive cases I was browsing through Vimeo and stumbled upon your video LOL.
__________________
www.nickelsvision.com
Canon C100, Canon 5D MK iii, Canon 5D MK ii (Magic Lantern), Panasonic GF1 (Hacked)
Peter Chaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2012, 12:09 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 627
paul joy

Currently sitting in Amsterdam airport after shooting with the C100 and C300 today and exactly the same thing happened with my C100, set double slot recording, looked down part way throug and only one card was lit red, the other was green and the LCD showed remaining time for the active card yet the card that dropped out just showed ---.

I was really nervous that other one was going to crap out too but it lasted okay. Same cards as you, Sandisk 32GB Ultra.

Paul
__________________
Blog: www.pauljoy.com
Company: www.videotrader.co.uk
Paul Joy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2012, 12:11 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NJ/NYC
Posts: 560
Re: C100 dual slot recording, anyone have issues?

paul, are you using regular sandisk SDs or micro SD with the SD adapter?

and yes to alleviate your concern, in my tests i've let one slot die and the other records on for any length of time no problem, and if you do the recovery for the other card it seem to bring the file back OK.
runnin a test now to see if it's crapping out at the file switchover mark
__________________
C100 - GH4 - NYC Shooter
www.DarrenLevine.com
Darren Levine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2012, 12:19 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 627
Re: C100 dual slot recording, anyone have issues?

I'm using regular SD cards. I just carried on using one card, I didn't try to recover the bad one. I did have a strange issue last night when I did a full initialisation of the cards in camera. The A card initialised fine but the B card threw up an error, ejecting it and reinserting resolved it. Interestingly it was the A card that failed today otherwise I'd assume a bad card.
__________________
Blog: www.pauljoy.com
Company: www.videotrader.co.uk
Paul Joy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2012, 12:27 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NJ/NYC
Posts: 560
Re: C100 dual slot recording, anyone have issues?

well paul your experience and the fact that mine hasn't hiccuped yet with a pny 16gb and sandisk 32gb, certainly makes this an odd situation....

and on your prior note, one of the first things i suspected was one of my cards to be faulty, so i re initialized both, and switched the slots they were in, in the next test the supposedly good card was the one to cut out. i think it has to do with which slot was selected last.

19 minutes and still going now...

certainly could be a brand issue, maybe matching cards or matching sandisks has a glitch which needs firmware attention.
__________________
C100 - GH4 - NYC Shooter
www.DarrenLevine.com
Darren Levine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2012, 12:57 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NJ/NYC
Posts: 560
Re: C100 dual slot recording, anyone have issues?

47 min, no issues. odd. i'm leaning more towards matching cards somehow causing the issue.

To lend to this theory, if you record for even just a few seconds on one card before going ahead with dual card recording, seems to solve the issue, though i need to try that once more..

oh well, im off to costco.
__________________
C100 - GH4 - NYC Shooter
www.DarrenLevine.com
Darren Levine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2012, 05:15 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 2,835
Re: C100 dual slot recording, anyone have issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd View Post
Which camera are you using, Darren? C300 or C100?

I suppose I should implement thread prefixes in this forum so that the camera model can be designated in the thread title.
Chris, I think this prefixing will be essential to avoid confusion. Good idea and one I've seen work well elsewhere.
__________________
Andy K Wilkinson - http://www.shootingimage.co.uk
Cambridge (UK) Corporate Video Production
Andy Wilkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2012, 02:45 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NJ/NYC
Posts: 560
Re: C100 dual slot recording, anyone have issues?

another quirk question for any c100/300 owners: is your evf glass loose? as in if you shake the camera even lightly, you hear it rattling around?
__________________
C100 - GH4 - NYC Shooter
www.DarrenLevine.com
Darren Levine is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:52 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network