Sigma 50-150 OS on C300 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems

Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems
For all Canon Cinema EOS models: C700 / C300 Mk. II / C200 / C100 Mk II and EF / PL lenses.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 9th, 2013, 04:02 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,870
Sigma 50-150 OS on C300

Prior to buying this lens I have a question. Has anyone had experience with this lens pulling/pushing "Live" zoom during an interview?
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2013, 04:17 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 700
Re: Sigma 50-150 OS on C300

I have its predecessor (non-OS) in Nikon mount. It works spectacularly for this purpose... completely parfocal and smooth zoom and focus. It's about as close as I have to a cinema lens that isn't a cinema lens.
__________________
Freelance pudgy bearded lighting camera operator
www.mcbob.tv
Kevin McRoberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2013, 04:19 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,870
Re: Sigma 50-150 OS on C300

Wow Kevin that was fast, thank you.

Great new, that was the answer I was looking for, sounds like a great buy. I think I will go with the OS version.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2013, 01:03 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brownsville, OR
Posts: 116
Re: Sigma 50-150 OS on C300

Another option is the Tokina 50-135 f/2.8 which is quite sharp and also parfocal.
It's discontinued but I was able to find one. It doesn't have OS.
Stephen Brenner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2013, 01:15 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,870
Re: Sigma 50-150 OS on C300

Thanks Stephen but OS is important to me if I ever use it handheld.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2013, 12:01 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Juneau, AK
Posts: 818
Re: Sigma 50-150 OS on C300

Paul,

Problem is, the IS version is very big and heavy, whereas the non-IS version (now discontinued and
a bit hard to find) is nice and light. So having the IS version almost seems to cancel out the ability to
go handheld. I have a bit of information about this, a review of the non IS version and some video
shot with it on actual projects, at my blog.
www.gforcevideo.com
and click on the 'blog' button if you are interested.
Gabe Strong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2013, 07:33 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,870
Re: Sigma 50-150 OS on C300

Thanks Gabe,

I checked out your blog and appreciate your input. As for weight I feel it is not bad compared to my Canon 70-200 2.8L II. Now, I know people will say why don't you just use that lens? Well at the same time I am shooting with the C300 I stop and take stills for the same client with my 1DX, or it is the second camera, so I need the Sigma for the C300 while the 70-200 is on the 1DX.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2013, 05:00 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,870
Re: Sigma 50-150 OS on C300

Lens arrived today and seems great. Will put it to work shortly on a few jobs.

Much smoother focus and zoom ring then the Canon 17-55 that is on the camera most of the time. Also the OS is very good in both modes. Makes me wonder how the 17-50 Sigma is compared to the 17-55 Canon?
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2013, 01:37 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mount Rainier, MD
Posts: 428
Re: Sigma 50-150 OS on C300

This is probably next on my list of lenses to get. I would use it for low light telephoto and shallow depth of field interviews where I can get enough distance from the subject. I'd be curious to hear your feelings about it once you use it in the field.

I evaluated the Sigma 17-50mm, but ultimately went with the 17-55 so I didn't have to deal with the "backwards" focus. I just liked the feel of the Canon better. But, the Sigma is a good lens too.
Brett Sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2013, 02:48 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,870
Re: Sigma 50-150 OS on C300

Brett will let you know the end of next week after I use it on a job. I do have the 17-55. Works well but is not very smooth.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2013, 04:19 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 59
Re: Sigma 50-150 OS on C300

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Cronin View Post
Makes me wonder how the 17-50 Sigma is compared to the 17-55 Canon?
I used the Sigma 17-50 OS for Sony mount on the FS100 via the LA-EA1 adapter. The OS was in effect, but negligibly subtle. From that experience I've had the impression that Sigma can't do OS properly. But the 50-150 seems different.
Al Yeung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2013, 09:47 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,870
Re: Sigma 50-150 OS on C300

Thanks Al,

The 50-150 does seem to have a nice OS.

Hard to beat how well it works on the 17-55, but I don't like the jumps when panning since it is a one stage OS.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2013, 11:57 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ontario, California
Posts: 307
Re: Sigma 50-150 OS on C300

I have both the Sigma 17-50 2.8, and the Sigma 50-150 2.8 OS, and I can tell you that I love this lens on my crop camera. The Sigma 17-50 when I first bought is was a bit stiff when zooming, but after a long period of use its now smooth.

A great lens for it's value, you wont be disappointed.
Rickey Brillantes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2013, 08:42 AM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,870
Re: Sigma 50-150 OS on C300

Thanks Rickey,

Have you also tried the Canon 17-55 to compare?
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2013, 09:23 AM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,870
Re: Sigma 50-150 OS on C300

So first impression after using on a few clips with my last shoot. The Sigma has smooth zoom and focus better then my Canon 17-55, but the Sigma is softer picture. Not a problem just something to be aware of when setting up the camera for the lens.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is online now   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:28 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network