C100: Audio info FYI at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems

Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems
For all Canon Cinema EOS models: C700 / C300 Mk. II / C200 / C100 Mk II and EF / PL lenses.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 7th, 2013, 03:39 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Townsend, WA
Posts: 445
C100: Audio info FYI

Just tried the Rode Lavalier into the 3.5" jack. No dice. Didn't work. The Rode Videomic Pro worked fine, of course, with the power on. (G). Seems it needs power. Just a point of reference, the lav works fine with my 5Dmkiii. No power needed. So to use the lav it appears I would need to buy one of the xlr adapters they sell for it (or plug it into an adapter cable that is made for 3.5 to xlr) and keep the handle on the unit when using it.
Al Bergstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2013, 10:03 AM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cranston
Posts: 5
Re: C100: Audio info FYI

All not sure if this is the same issue but on the XA10 if you plug into one of the XLR jacks the 1/8" becomes void. Which is stupid but it wouldn't be the first stupid thing Canon has done!
Tomas Elefsiades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2013, 10:06 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Townsend, WA
Posts: 445
Re: C100: Audio info FYI

I had the handle off at the point of trying the 3.5 mm jack. But thanks for the thought. There supposedly is an 'automatic' feature on the C100 that senses that a mic is plugged in. So I'm pretty sure that the lav is not able to be used directly without a power source driving it.
Al Bergstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2013, 11:10 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cranston
Posts: 5
Re: C100: Audio info FYI

Good luck with it Al! When you get a chance can you show what settings you are using to get good low light on your XF305? I have a 300 I hate using at events that's why I grabbed the C100 but want the XF300 as a backup/wide
Tomas Elefsiades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2013, 11:14 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NJ/NYC
Posts: 560
Re: C100: Audio info FYI

got your solution right here:

Mono to Stereo Microphone Plug in Power Battery Module | eBay

i have it, it works. the issue is that the c100 doesn't have excitation power in its 1/8 port like laptops do, so any passive mics that do not have their own power source will not work, unless you use one of those dongles. i searched a long time, that's the only one i think exists that's reasonably small
__________________
C100 - GH4 - NYC Shooter
www.DarrenLevine.com
Darren Levine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2013, 07:39 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
Re: C100: Audio info FYI

There's the Rode MiCon 5 adaptor to XLR .. Rode MiCon 5 Connector for Rode MiCon Microphones (XLR) MICON-5

RODE Lavalier microphone - YouTube

Cheers.
__________________
30+ years with our own audio and visual production company and studios.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2013, 12:00 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Townsend, WA
Posts: 445
Re: C100: Audio info FYI

Thx Allan. I wanted to stick with 3.5 while handle was off. Thanks Darren! Think thats it.
Al Bergstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2013, 04:40 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 72
Re: C100: Audio info FYI

I have a Countryman B6 with a 1/8" connection hardwired for audio recorder inputs (in other words, it doesn't work with wireless units; I've been using it with a Sony PCM-M10). I bought a 1/8" to XLR adapter (
Rode VXLR - Mono Mini-Jack to XLR Converter VXLR B&H Photo Video
) and plugged it into the XLR input of the C100. It didn't work. I tried it with Phantom Power on, and it still didn't work.

As per what Darren said, I assume it needs excitation power, which phantom power does not substitute for. What are my options? I basically would like to use the Countryman plugged into the C100 with a 25 ft XLR cable going off to the miced talent.

I don't mind having the handle on; I'd prefer it goes through than handle rather than the 1/8" jack so I can control audio via the dials, and I'd probably often have a shotgun plugged in the other XLR as well.

Is there a converter that will convert the phantom power to excitation power? Is that what that Rode MiCon Adapter does, and would that work with a Countryman mic? Or would I need an XLR to 1/8" converter, and plug Darren's Power module solution into that? Would the power from the power module travel over a 25 ft XLR cable?

Last edited by Eric Coughlin; June 11th, 2013 at 05:23 AM.
Eric Coughlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2013, 10:00 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 83
Re: C100: Audio info FYI

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Coughlin View Post
I have a Countryman B6 with a 1/8" connection hardwired for audio recorder inputs (in other words, it doesn't work with wireless units; I've been using it with a Sony PCM-M10). I bought a 1/8" to XLR adapter (Rode VXLR - Mono Mini-Jack to XLR Converter VXLR B&H Photo Video) and plugged it into the XLR input of the C100. It didn't work. I tried it with Phantom Power on, and it still didn't work.

As per what Darren said, I assume it needs excitation power, which phantom power does not substitute for. What are my options? I basically would like to use the Countryman plugged into the C100 with a 25 ft XLR cable going off to the miced talent.

I don't mind having the handle on; I'd prefer it goes through than handle rather than the 1/8" jack so I can control audio via the dials, and I'd probably often have a shotgun plugged in the other XLR as well.

Is there a converter that will convert the phantom power to excitation power? Is that what that Rode MiCon Adapter does, and would that work with a Countryman mic? Or would I need an XLR to 1/8" converter, and plug Darren's Power module solution into that? Would the power from the power module travel over a 25 ft XLR cable?
You need a 48V to low voltage convertor to step down the voltage for electret condenser microphones. Then you plug into the XLR jack with 48V turned on.

I use this convertor with DPA lav mics wired for Sennheiser G3 packs, and it works fantastic. You just get the model that has the correct connector for the way your lavs are wired.
Ambient Recording P48 Electret Converter for Sennheiser EMP3.5

They are not cheap, but they work, and seem to be built tough. It's exactly what you need. I looked around, and at the time there were not many products on the market. I know both Rode and DPA sell them along with their mics sometimes.

Here are all the connectors the Ambient ones can come with:
electret ambient| B&H Photo Video
Andrew Bove is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:33 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network